Squash Soup, My Favorite

Pierre Negaud Dupenor
2 min readOct 20, 2019

--

I love squash soup. I’ve fallen in love with squash soup since my childhood. I can’t explain the effect that it has on me. I can’t describe what I feel when I find myself in front of a big bowl of squash soup. All that I know is, squash soup is one of the rare meals that I can spend all-day eating without repelling it.

In Haiti, squash soup is a traditional meal. More than that, it’s the symbol of our Independence. Each January 1st, our independence anniversary, Haitian families make big boilers of squash soup. They share it with each other in the neighborhood. It symbolizes peace, harmony, love and the Haitian revolution’s victory.

The Haitian squash soup is quite different from other squash soups’ preparation process around the world. In Haiti, the typical recipe for squash soup combines tubers, noodles, vegetables, goat’s meat or steak. Some families put bread as well. More imaginative people also put rice, depending on what kind of texture they want.

Please dive into my audiogram about this story.

My last bowl of squash soup in Haiti before traveling to the US, March 2019.

--

--