The Hotter The Better…

Madison Miller
Soup Stories
Published in
3 min readMar 16, 2018

My favorite soup(s) are Broccoli Cheddar from Panera or French Onion Soup from Wildflower Bread Company. I am so sad that Mimi’s discontinued their French Onion Soup. It was the best. I feel like many people didn’t order it because it has a strong after taste and if you don’t like onions that soup just isn’t for you. I think the best way to enjoy soup is eating it with a French roll, a piece of wheat toast or a grilled cheese. I enjoy dipping my bread in the soup. I think that is pretty much the only time where I like soggy bread. When I am sick I enjoy eating French Onion soup it always seems to make me feel better. The hot and steamy broth saturates the onions and bread and gives it that extra kick of flavor. Then the cheese covering the bowl gets in on the flavor as well. I am not a big cheese fan, but I love the Swiss and Parmesan cheese mix.

I am very picky when it comes to eating soup. It has to be extremely hot and steamy or I wont eat it. I like to be able to cool it down myself. Broccoli cheddar is quite creamy and cheesy. The little pieces of Broccoli that lay in the soup are delicious. I always eat the Broccoli first before I eat the rest of the soup. Again, I don’t love cheese on much other foods, but cheese in my soup is another story. I am a more of a health freak and I know that soup in general has a lot of sodium and that is why I only eat soup when I am sad, sick or is cold and raining out.

There is something about eating soup in the comfort of my own home and most particularly in my bed. I especially enjoy eating soup when it is cold out, I am sick, or just feeling sad. My mom always knows how to cheer me up or help make me feel better by bringing me French Onion or Broccoli Cheddar soup to go. It automatically makes me feel better and my tummy happy. I feel like 9 times out of 10 when I go to Panera to get French Onion soup the restaurant is always backed up. I usually wait 15–20 minutes for a bowl of Broccoli Cheddar, but boy it is so worth it. Now that Mimi’s discontinued French onion soup Wildflower Bread Company does a pretty good rendition of it. I am not sure if everyone knows of it, but I would compare it to putting a Panera and Flower Child together. It has that cute and trendy vibe.

As a personal preference, I only will order French Onion soup at Wild Flower. I know that the soup is cooked and prepared very well there. There has not been a fast food place that serves soup that I have liked. I have given it a try but still not a fan.

I don’t understand how people can have an appetite for hot soup when it is hot out. As I stated before, I think soup can only be eaten when it is cold and rainy out, when I am sad or sick. My best scenario eating extremely hot soup is watching Netflix or something on TV with my momma and wrapped up in blankets on the couch. There are so many types of soup out there, but I believe that French Onion soup and Broccoli Cheddar soup are my absolute favorites. Oh wait, I forgot about Miso Soup!

--

--