The One and Only Exception to the Rule

Joe Jacquez
Soup Stories
Published in
3 min readMar 2, 2018

--

The perfect combination for a soup. Left photo credit: Matt Barber/Flicker Right photo credit: Rebecca Siegel/Flicker

My favorite soup is Chunky’s Steak and Potato soup

I think it is the perfect combination of thick, warm broth, my favorite kind of meat steak and potatoes.

It is perfect for a cold winter day; yes, I have had it several times in the last two weeks when the weather decided to dramatically change.

Most broths I do not like but this one has a meaty steak flavor that makes it bearable. Most of the time, I end up throwing out some of the broth, but at least I will slurp up more of this broth than most others.

When my parents decide to have lentil soup and my sister decides to have tomato or roman on a lazy day, I hope and pray they will let their rule slide about meals.

“Joe you know our rule, you can only have what is served or peanut butter and jelly” my mom always says.

This is something my mom would say.

But she is always willing to make an exception when they have lentil soup because at least it is soup and it is something healthy.

Sean Dreilinger/Flicker

It is not like I am asking to eat cookies or have a piece of apple pie that she bought from Marie Callender’s that same afternoon.

So I sit down, and enjoy my favorite soup with some Townhouse crackers in the company of my family.

But sometimes, before I can even reach the table with my bowl of soup, I have trouble getting it out of our microwave in one piece.

Usually I am not dumb enough to forget to put a piece of plastic wrap over the bowl so the soup does not splash over, but even when I do that, I often forget to stir the soup when it pops out of control.

So I often have to clean stains of steak and potato soup out of the microwave, and let me tell you…that is not fun, especially when your mom is looking over your shoulder the WHOLE time, just to make sure you scrub every last drop off.

In that moment, I almost feel like Snow White the maid before she met the seven dwarfs and made a life for herself.

In any event, if I am lucky enough to get it from the microwave to the table with all the soup still packed into the bowl, chances are I will need more napkins than the average human; I am that way with every food; to clean my fingers and more so, the side of the table I was sitting on.

Because if you know me, you know that I am an extremely messy eater.

--

--

Joe Jacquez
Soup Stories

@Cronkite_ASU '18 | Summer: @PINBureau + State Press sports | Fall: SP @FootballASU beat + @arizonasports intern | MLB/Dbacks for @hardballscoop @venomstrikes