Bloomington’s Coding Program

Bloomington students ages 7–18 learn the power of coding by programming their own projects, games, platforms, and websites! 🚀

South Bend Code School
South Bend Code School
3 min readAug 15, 2019

--

Just last Fall, South Bend Code School and The Dimension Mill partnered to bring a coding program to Bloomington.

Two Indiana University students, Jane Bomkamp and Camisa Vines, teach weekly coding sessions for kids and teens at The Mill.

Jane is a master’s student at IU in Instructional Systems Technology.

Camisa is a first year undergraduate computer science student and former Code School student.

Together, they teach aspiring coders, ages 7–18, a variety of tech skills such as digital animations, Python programming, 3D game development, graphic design, and web development.

Camisa and Jane share their thoughts on the Bloomington coding program.

Tell us about you.

Jane: I’m originally from Evansville, IN. I came to Bloomington for my undergrad in 2014 to study Elementary Education. I gained a real passion for computer education during my studies and wanted to continue my education after graduating in May 2018. In August 2018, I started my master’s program at IU in Instructional Systems Technology.

Camisa: I am a first year computer science student at Indiana University. I’m originally from South Bend, IN and learned about Code School in my hometown. I’m a former Code School student, myself, and decided to become an instructor. I learned how to code in the Code School program and wanted to be part of teaching others.

Jane, what inspired you to get involved in the Bloomington program?

Jane: Throughout my undergraduate studies at IU, I worked with students of all ages on coding in a traditional classroom environment. I was fortunate to have college field experience through my computer education license that showed me how important it is for students to have the opportunity to learn coding. My mentor heard about this program coming to Bloomington and urged me to apply. We started our first classes last fall and it’s already almost one year later!

How does Code School fit into Bloomington’s tech ecosystem?

Jane: I feel like Code School is addressing the gap of accessibility in Bloomington. We meet the need for available coding opportunities in the area for kids of many different ages (7–18). SBCS also offers opportunities for students to obtain scholarships to attend our classes. Therefore, students of all backgrounds can have access to this learning opportunity.

Camisa: I feel like the Bloomington program, especially, is addressing the idea that women do not belong in tech. In the Code School Bloomington program, the lead instructors are women!

I also like that we teach kids how to code but they apply that knowledge by building projects that they’re passionate about. There’s a strong sense of autonomy and authenticity in the coding sessions.

How do you hope to see the coding program grow?

Jane: Through my work with this program, I see the importance of spreading coding opportunities to all kids. Therefore, I hope that enrollment can continue to grow in Bloomington and throughout Indiana to provide all students with the opportunity to learn to code.

Camisa: I try to inspire a student enough where they feel confident that they want to pursue a STEM degree. So they get older, they can tell others how they got started.

To learn more about our coding classes in Bloomington, visit southbendcodeschool.com.

--

--

South Bend Code School
South Bend Code School

Ages 7–18 learn the power of coding by programming their own projects, games, platforms and websites! 🚀