Adventure - Solo Ride, and Trekking in Kolli Hills

Praba Prakash
South Indian Trekkers
4 min readMar 12, 2019
Agaya Gangai Water Falls

Kolli Hills, famous for Falls, Temple, Boating, Climate, Fruits, Bike Ride — 70 hairpin bends.

Kolli Hills from Chennai 360 km journey, from Bangalore 250 km journey.

Chennai, on Saturday, I started a long drive journey towards Puliyancholai, Trichy.

Puliyancholai, The start point of this trek to Kolli Hills. It is a hamlet of about 30 families and 10–15 teashops in the dense forest region of the same name on the foothills of Kolli Hills (Eastern Ghats) Tamil Nadu, India.

I reached Puliyancholai, around 10 pm, Camped out there with the help of villagers. Villagers were so Kind :)

Woke up at early morning, got a team of youngsters from Trichy, joining with me to trek.

We’re going through the river basin, It was a fantastic experience.

Puliancholai

Half an hour later we reached slope surface, the trek going to be hard from now. I didn’t know about the water source. No water source in slope surface. It was hot and We didn’t feel the air flow too.

The other team member was too dehydrated started giving up, I never give up, I started trek alone.

I struggled without water, luckily one man going down to Puliancholai, He gave a lemon, I had it.

Still, I felt suffocating, I slept, feel the air, breathe, trek and does the same for an hour.

God, finally I reached the Ariyurnadu, Kolli Hills. Luckily Ex-Panchayat President, Sathya helped a lot, He drove towards the Agaya Gangai waterfalls.

Kolli Hills Map

Agaya Gangai Waterfalls, We’re supposed to step down 1200 steps to reach falls. Cute children holding his dad coming from falls.

Cute Child

About 1200 steps downwards from opposite Arapaaleeswarar temple take you to this exciting waterfalls. About 500 steps are steep and difficult especially if you are with young children or old people. Make sure you give plenty of time for this activity, like at least 3 hours. 1 hour at the falls and 1 hour each for up and down trekking the mountain stairs. About 200 meters final trek after climbing down the stairs may be slippery and challenging. And you have to pass a 50 feet stream to reach the falls. You have to be careful to cross those slippery rocks in that stream and if you are not a good swimmer they have tied a rope across the stream. Don’t hesitate to use that rope and also those poles in the falls as the rock may be slippery. But no matter what at the end it’s an ultimate experience at the falls and worth it for all the hard work done trekking.

source — https://www.tripadvisor.in/Attraction_Review-g1477768-d2709136-Reviews-Agaya_Gangai_Waterfalls-Kolli_Hills_Namakkal_District_Tamil_Nadu.html

Agaya Gangai Waterfalls

I spent around 2 hours with the falls, It was memorable and beautiful. Father and Daughter caught me, what a cute moment

Agaya Gangai Waterfalls

I’m on the verge to trek back to Puliancholai, where I parked my bike. I left falls, started trek to Arappaleeswarar Temple. I need to reach Puliancholai before Dark, otherwise, I gonna stay in the forest, gonna waste my one day leave balance, I don’t want too.

I had my lunch, bought a few fruits and started my journey towards Puliancholai.

Lot more slope to go to reach the river basin. I trekked faster, by hearing upbeat music. after 2 hours, I reached the river basin. I’m done with slope, had water and bath here. Cool and plain water from falls.

River Basin

Finally, 6 pm reached Puliancholai. What an adventure, ended my trek in one day. Marvelous Experience! never give up!! what you love!!!

Puliancholai

Life. I started living my life. we will see you in the next story, probably an unplanned adventure :)

--

--