Adventure, Solo Trekking to Kolukkumalai, Kerala

Praba Prakash
South Indian Trekkers
5 min readMar 25, 2019
View of Nagamalai from Kolakkumalai

Kolukkumalai is a small village in the Theni district of Tamil Nadu at the border of Idukki district of Kerala. So, technically it is a part of Tamil Nadu but Munnar (in Kerala) is the most popular gateway to Kolukkumalai tea estate. To reach Kolukkumalai you need to hire a jeep from the gate of Suryanelli tea estate from where the 9 kilometers of crazy off-roading will begin. It is the HIGHEST organic tea estate in the whole world! — source — tripadvisor

Friday, I took a red bus to Theni, Tamilnadu from Alandur, Chennai. next day early morning, I step down at Bodi, Theni. There, took a bus to Munnar, step down at Power House, from there took an auto reached Suyranelli, the trek starting point.

Kolukkamalai tea estate is a private estate, trekking is strictly prohibited due to Kurangani fire accident. Local camping group and jeep drivers are worried, If anything happens to me, they may lose their income for months.

I just started trekking, I’m sure this one is easy to trek for me.

Fortunately, it’s a festival season for local villages, there were so many going to local villages, especially Nagamalai. I used this as an option, trespassed the gate, started my trekking.

There were two routes to reach Kolakkumalai peak, one is through is road path, other is through tea estates the easier one.

I trek through the tea estates, It was an adventurous and beautiful view.

Water basin is everywhere. It has vast water resources. I bath here and continued my trekking

I see a few villagers walking towards Nagamalai to celebrate the festival.

Half an hour later I reached Nagamalai, had tea. Unluckily I was caught by Assitant Forest Officer, He was Ex-Military for twenty years, he was on the mood of celebrating the festival, he even helped to go continue my trek, lucky for me. got permission from the captain.

Nagamalai

It going to sunset in about an hour, I trekked faster and this climate helped me to avoid dehydration.

Nagamalai view, mid of Kolakkumalai

Beautiful view of Nagamalai Village. folks this is paradise, I was so happy to be here.

View of Nagamalai, few steps to Kolakkumalai

Final steps to Kollakumalai. around 7 pm I reached the peak, found Tent n Trek team is going to camping out there.

I carry camping along with me, they were so rigid, not allowing me to camp out there, also it is bit costlier, 1600 rs per night, I respect their business, but my budget goes out, also I have carried a camping kit from Chennai.

I had a fight with them, then took a jeep and come down to Nagamalai.

Kolakkumalai, Sunrise ViewPoint will be so scenic and memorable one, I don’t want to miss that one.

I stayed in Nagamalai, Villagers were very helpful, they gave me mutton curry and white rice for Dinner. They prepared the food for Terukkuttu Team.

I slept in the shop. early morning, around 4'o clock woke up, started trekking and rushing towards the Kolakkumalai, to view the sunrise. I’m going through tea plantation and trekking without caring about me, my only focus is to view the sunrise.

Nagamalai View, from Kolakkumalai Peak

Chill, I reached the peak waiting for sunrise. there were a lot of people who came by jeep to the sunrise viewpoint.

Sunrise viewpoint from Kolakkumalai

What a memorable experience, a fantastic place

This is the second highest peak of Kerala followed by Anaimudi.

Now I’m hungry, started the trek back to Nagamalai

You could see a few people in my shot from the peak.

People are going back to Suryanelli after sunrise, you could see two jeeps are going down.

I’m trekking back to Nagamalai, where I kept my bag.

You probably notice that there were no people working in a tea estate, today is a holiday for them.

After an hour, I reached Nagamalai, warm welcome by villages, they’re so fascinated to see me again.

The villagers were so kind and helpful, their daily wages around 380 rupees per day for both men and female. Everyone is relative to each other.

But I still feel male chauvinism, the men work from 8 am to 1 pm, but women work around 8 hours per day. Sorry, I can’t prejudice people

Finally, one hell of an Experience, wow I’m the luckiest person, got authorized trekking to Kolukkumalai.

Life. I started living my life. we will see you in the next story, probably an unplanned adventure :)

--

--