Adventure, Solo Trekking, and Camping in Dudhsagar Falls

Praba Prakash
South Indian Trekkers
4 min readFeb 6, 2019
Dudhsagar Falls

Beer, probably the only place on the Earth, you will get Cool Beer for 100 Indian Bucks, that too middle of trekking is Dudhsagar Falls, Goa, India

28th Dec, Friday I left office, started my bike reached Bangalore around 11 pm. It gonna long holiday, I have big plans to visit Dudhsagar falls, Goa

29th Dec, Saturday. I spent my time with niece, nephew and my College friend Prasad, Amazonian

Nephew

Nephew, the cool kid, spend time with him gonna best time ever.

Saturday night, I started my Adventure to Dudhsagar., reached Majestic (Kempagowda), took a bus to Hubli

30st reached morning around 10:30 am. Vasco da Gama, from Hubli, took a bus to Vasco da Gama, Goa. I stepped down at Mollem, from there Hitchhiked and reach Kulem.

Kulem, Dudhsagar trek starting point. folks I reached there around 2 pm, spent a day traveling.

New Year coming, every homestay is filled and costlier, I carried around 6 -7 kg of the backpack with tent, jerkin, blanket, and dress from Chennai.

I’m not in the mood to book a homestay, Adventure should be an adventure.

Usual, started gathering information to trek Dudh Sagar. There are four ways we can reach the falls, Kulem Jeep Safari, Kulem to trek falls by track and mud road.

Castle Rock Railway Station, most popular trek route, for more info please go through the kotresh blog

Dinner had dinner in Mollum, got three new friends, one is working as gateman in Kulem railway station during the night, another one is fruit sellers., the third is a local businessman. Gateman was very kind and helpful, helped me put a tent in the railway station. Long travel I slept.

Kulem Railway Station

31st end of the year woke up early, started running towards the Dudhsagar trail to get the ticket. The local businessman helps me to get a guide and the team. Guide fees 350 bucks per head.

We started trekking, the Team is from Shimoga, Karnataka. Everyone is 90’s, kids, I’m too :)

Dudh Sagar Trek Route

Alcohol, I never had alcohol in my Life, I’m not perfect, Nobody is perfect, I gave that permission to my Wife, I’m not a married man, till then you can’t make me drink alcohol, I’m Unbreakable :)

Shimoga dudes, they’re awesome, with the short time they became my friends and they started caring me too.

Santhosh

8kms to go, We were at the collem forest department, gone through checking, continued trekking.

Mud route to Dudh Sagar

Beer, this is the place I mentioned earlier, they were having the beer for 100 bucks. folks, they are high and enjoying the moments.

Middle of Trek Point

Finally, we entering Dudhsagar Falls, the heavy crowd came by Jeep Safari.

Dudhsagar Falls, Entrance

Fantastic, worth time travel from Chennai.

Dudhsagar Falls

Life jackets are mandatory if you want to bath here. Shimoga Dudes started bathing here, I went other side and started bathing too.

Dudhsagar Falls

Bridge, there was a bridge over the falls, people are looking for the Goods train and started shouting, living the moments.

Praba

2hrs later we started the trek back to Kulem, we’re hungry too.

Hitchhiking Good Trains

Hitchhiking Goods train along with Shimoga dudes and our Guide. It was a memorable experience, I recorded every moment.

The tunnel, going through the tunnel was worth remarkable experience.

We ended the trek after reaching Kulem Railway Station. I thanked my guide and Shimoga dudes. They left me and they’re going to Panji

Fish Thalli

Fish Thali, I'm so hungry, ran to the restaurant had fish thalli, then coffee followed tea :)

Dudhsagar Falls, I can’t forget the hitchhiking and beer in the middle of trekking.

Life. I started living my life. we will see you in the next story, probably getting the slap in Goa :)

--

--