Adventure, Solo Trekking, Camping and Bonfire in Velliangiri Mountains

Praba Prakash
South Indian Trekkers
8 min readFeb 4, 2019
Velliangiri Summit Siva Temple

Velliangiri Mountains (South Kailash), the famous Isha Foundation is located in it, Coimbatore, Tamilnadu.

7 seven hills, one has to cross seven hills to see the image of a deity, Siva.

Pongal, after Pongal Celebrations I planned to visit the Velliangiri, usual I left office on Friday took an omnibus from Chennai reached Coimbatore on Saturday

Saturday, I supposed to step down a Chitra, where my brother doing PG in PSG College of Arts & Science, but I stepped down at PSG College of Technology. my brother shouted at me in the call, came after half an hour, then we both went to Gandhi Puram. We had breakfast at the famous Sree Annapoorna Hotel. Then He left me at Gandhi Puram, Central bus stand

14D, I waited for the 14D bus for half an hour, which goes to Poondi, Isha Foundations, the bus came, I took a ticket, got company two lawyers whom also going to Velliangiri trekking. We reached Isha Foundations, We had my lunch and tea in Isha restaurant, meanwhile, I charge my mobile too. those two layers we’re in the urge to start their trek. they left me and took an auto reached Velliangiri Temple, Trek Starting Point. I used to love walking, I walked and reached Velliangiri mountains after 20 minutes. I saw them waiting at the entrance, regarding forest departments we’re not supposed to trek because they told us It’s not a season time.

Opinionated Lawyers, they asked how you came here, I told by walk, they told don’t lie, how come it possible, we’re there for twenty minutes. They are so doubting me, I actually hate the idiots.

Unfortunately, they got some influences, help me get into the trek aka trespass with permission. I kept my bag in trek entrance and went to buy some food and snacks, those Lawyers so urge, started trek by giving my bag to security, thank them at least they gave it to security.

Food, I went to shops and bought Thean Mittai (Honey Candy) and Kadalai Mittai (Pea Nut Candy). Found out Annadhanam (food charity) is going down there in the temple, without any hesitation, I went there ask them, could you gave me some food. They’re really mediocre, I don’t know what to say, they’re told me that, they have few banana leaves for tomorrow pooja, they didn’t give me the food. Folks, I don’t care, I have seen lot mediocrity people through my journey.

Rushed, I rushed to the entrance, think the lawyers gonna be there, found out they left, I saw one young sannyasi, waiting for my company.

Trek Entrance

I enquired about sannyasi because he is young. He told me that is he is from Tiruvannamalai, I feel some relief.,

First Mountain

He is from my hometown, asked his story, after hearing his story, folks worst, I hate him so much, he cheated five lakhs lending from hand to hand, he told me that without repaying them, he became sannyasi, he is now working in Wedding Hall in Chennai, also he told me coming from Sabarimala. He has been to Kasi, Rameshwaram

Going First Mountain

Finally, I came to conclusion, I’m here for Peace. I planned to lose him. After about 1000 steps, We met those opinionated lawyers. I told guys you three people go first, I’m tired I come slowly., I loosed those Idiots.

View from First Mountains

I sat there for about an hour. Plugged my headphone listen to peaceful love songs.

Peace is within us. Idiots only search for it. It can be in any forms, for me, music, music mix with nature gave me peace and drives me towards success, I faced enough failure in my life, I used to be it.

End of First Mountain

Tiruppur, Tamilnadu. Those two youngsters we’re going to complete trekking, they’re from Tiruppur, they’re business folks, not only them I’m gonna see about 100 folks from my journey.

Every year, after Pongal Celebration, they’re gonna be a group of 200 people from Tiruppur come together to Velliangiri temple, providing free food down there, they trek seven hills does pooja to Siva and thank Siva sold their cotton garments successfully during Pongal Season.

Second Mountain

First water source, guys please refill your water bottle and your body too, because you won’t have water source till the 6th hill.

Tiruppur Gang, after ten minutes, going to reach the third mountain. I found some Tiruppur peoples, guys they’re so kind and helpful, they gave me a curd rice parcel

So I packed Thean Mittai (Honey Candy), Kadalai Mittai (Pea Nut Candy), Curd Ride for my dinner.

After every half an hour, I found Tiruppur gangs coming by the way. Guys, they’re so young and energetic. I saw young children trek with their daddy's. They have such enthusiasm to trek seven hills, it’s very appreciable.

3rd mountain, I’m going through the third mountain.

Tiruppur Gangs

Beautiful view from the fourth mountain. Just feel it!

I’m hungry opened the curd rice parcel and had it

Curd Rice

Mesmerizing view of the sunset from the fourth mountain!

Fourth Mountain

Camping, this time I planned to camp in the Velliangiri mountain to feel cool and chill. Actually, I was planning for a long time to sleep in Velliangiri, now the only time comes up.

Bonfire, when comes to mountain sticks, It catches the fire faster. I have taken match boxes, used it to create a bonfire.

Bonfire

5kg, I carried a 3kg Tent, Jerkin, My additional clothes, my amenities, Blanket. It all gonna weigh my backpack 5kg to 6 kg. I found a safe place to camp, put a tent and slept.

Camping

Peaceful sleep, I feel a deep sleep and also It’s very chill, which makes you sleep more. I woke up at 7 am, again bonfire, packed my tent, started the journey to the 7th hill at 7: 15 am.

Chill bath in sixth hills, sixth hills have good water flow, people used to bath here and then goes to seventh hills

God, it was so chill, I bath here, started the journey to the seventh hill, while going to the seventh hill, I found the two opinionated lawyers and one sannyasi. I told them I’m gonna first going to end the trekking. trek towards the seventh hill.

Seventh Hill

Summit, reached seventh hill, warm welcome by Ganesh Statue

Ganesh Status

Unfortunately, Temple was closed. People, we’re disappointed,

Devotees, if you see one devotee feel the free air, he was overwhelmed to get the Siva Blessing

Siva Lingam, behind those grill gate, Lingam used to be called Elumalai (Sapthagiri, 7 hills)

Siva Lingam

Lamp, someone lightens the Incandescent Lamp

Luck is a dividend of sweat. The more you sweat, the luckier you get., Ray Kroc

3rd for me, last year I came on my birthday.

Beautiful View from Seventh Hills, guys please don’t pollute the trail, avoid carrying plastics and plastic bottles, carry your own water bottles.

After half an hour, I started trekking back towards Velliangiri Temple.

Sixth Hill, this is the place I had the bath before going to seventh hills. this is so polluted with plastics, People kind request, don’t leave your inner wears here, don’t spoil the pure water by bathing with soap and shampoos.

While coming back, I could able to see lot young children trekking. Buddies you’re so cool, continue doing this.

Fourth Hill

Finally ended my trekking, I was so hungry, my inner mind told me that I’m gonna have Lunch for free.

Folks, I’m just kidding, I told you about the Tiruppur Gang, They’re providing Free food down there.

Opinionated Lawyers, Finally, while trekking back I met them at first hill, Guys, still they have the same mindset, One person asked me a question when you started trek to the seventh hill after woke up, I told him 7: 15 am, The person told so ‘hey whenever you open mouth you always lie’, I showed the pictures as proof and break his opinionated mindset, told the truth, I was here for peace, you people don’t seem to be nice, that's why I left you early.

Forget to thank them for the entrance entry. Lawyers, guys you people so helpful thanks for letting to an entrance to trek,

It was about how we perceive things. So be positive and energetic, Never give up what you Love.

Velliangiri Mountain

Having free lunch. After half hour I left Velliangiri Temple. By walk reached Isha Foundations, spent the rest of time.

Velliangiri Temple

Left Isha Foundations around 6 pm, reached Gandhipuram, Coimbatore. Had dinner with my brother. He left me in omni bus stand, I took a private bus and reached Chennai.

Life. I started living my life. we will see you in the next story, probably Trek to Parvathamalai, Tiruvannamalai

--

--