Adventure, Solo Trekking, and Camping n Hiking from Kodaikanal to Kumbakarai

Praba Prakash
South Indian Trekkers
4 min readFeb 6, 2019
Vellagavi, Kodaikanal, Tamilnadu

Kodaikanal, The Gift of the Forest, located in Tamilnadu, India. Unfortunately heavy polluted area due to tourism.

Not a well-planned adventure, I have four-days leave.

Thursday, Left Chennai by bus reached Kodaikanal on the next day, I spent a day to reach Kodaikanal. I love traveling by bus.

Kumbakarai Falls, foothills of the Kodaikanal Hills., I planned to trek from Kodaikanal

I need to cross two places (Vattakanal, Vellagavi) to reach Kumbakari, It’s about 14-kilometer trek

Coakers’ Walk, Kodaikanal

Hiking, I started hiking towards Vattakanal about four kilometers from Kodaikanal.

Crossing All India Radio & TV tower, This is the tallest tower, which signals south Tamilnadu.

AIR & TV Tower, Kodaikanal

7 pm, I reached Vattakanal, I found a lot of foreigners staying there. mostly from Europian Countries. Had coffee and started trekking towards Vallakavi

Vallakavi, remote village of Kodaikanal, no roads, we need trek to reach there. I had a few oranges left with me.

Vellagavi

Warm welcome by remote people. I was so fascinated by their helping.

Muthu, I found a local named Muthu. He is so kind, helps me providing fish curry and rice and place to put a tent. He having two children both of them are going to school. Folks, people still exist, who is really helpful and kind with unknown

Farming, Muthu doing farming coffee bean, he has his own land. He used to carry twenty kg of coffee bean regularly to Kodaikanal to sell it.

I camped near to Vellakavi Temple, Muthu helps me to find a perfect place

Camping

Chilly morning, I woke up and brushed, cleaned my stomach too. Vellagavai is Beautiful village, I was fascinated

Vellakavi, Temple

Breakfast, Muthu and his family served me breakfast. I asked him about the trek to Kumbakarai, he told me ‘please go back to Kodaikanal, don’t go Kumbakarai without permission’.

Trek, I left Muthu and his family, thanks to them. started trekking to Kumbakarai, I don’t have permission too, I’m ready for everything, this is the chance to explore the unhabituated places.

Water Resources

Temple, I found the cute temple. Peaceful place., Till now, I saw four people while trekking

Temple

Greenish, I didn’t expect such a beautiful place, actually, it’s the forest

Fall, I found small falls. Folks, I bath here.

One hell of an experience, I was alone in this place, spent half an hour.

Water is so pure, filled my bottle, continued trekking.

Finally going through forests, I’m new this place, I just followed the trek trail.

Unfortunately, I was caught by the forest department for trek without permission, they’re so stringent after fire accident in Kurangani, Tamilnadu.

Folks, they’re firing questions, I can’t able to answer everything, I was so frustrated and paid fine and left them.

Whatever, I’m happy trekking through this place.

Kumbakkari Falls, Finally reached Kumbakkari ended my trekking.

I see so many tourists, visited falls and bathing here. They’re a lot of small shops providing Bonda, Coffee, Tea.

Kumbakkari Falls, Theni.

Folks, when comes to Kodaikanal to kumbakkari Trekking, come as a gang, please get permission from Kodaikanal forest department, It was near to Kodaikanal bus stand.

Please avoid plastics and liquors.

The trail is very beautiful and not habituated, We will maintain the same, so let others could enjoy the trekking.

I left Kumbakkari, took a bus to Periyakulam, from there went Murugan Temple, Palani

Life. I started living my life. we will see you in the next story, probably Trek to Dudhsagar Falls, Goa

--

--