Adevnture, Solo Trekking, and Girivalam in Tiruvannamalai

Praba Prakash
South Indian Trekkers
5 min readJan 30, 2019

I didn’t see this coming, after trekking to Kumara Parvatha and Kudremukh, my Hometown festival season started

Festival of Lights, Kathika Deepam, Tiruvannamalai will be lit at around 6 pm at the top of 2668 ft high holy mountain.

Lakhs of devotees will perform 14 km Girivalam (circumambulation of the holy mountain) and Trekking to holy mountain carrying Ghee. Maha Deepam will be lit using nearly 3500 kg of Ghee

Thursday, after office I started riding my bike towards Tiruvannamalai, 194 km from Chennai. I took leave for Friday, I used work as a machine for the past 1.5 Yrs, so that I have a lot of leave balance. reached hometown. That my Uncle new Truck :)

If I’m at the home, I’m a lazy person, I don’t do any work. I won’t even be woke from the bed.

Mom. Child Nutrition Supervisor, She always shouts at us. She still feels we’re children.

Dad. Fantastic Personality, A successful person. He lost his mom at childhood. He overcomes all failures, holds a degree and Government Job. I still feel I’m waste when comes to my Dad Scarifies.

Sister. Math Genius holds centum in 12th maths. I’m always jealous of her math. I still don’t know why she is wasting her career in MNC’s.

Brother. Future Cinematographer, He chooses his passion and drives towards it. I admire his curiosity towards watching all movies and TV series.

Girivalam Walking 14 km (circumambulation of the holy mountain). I started early, left home at 9 am with my Sister. Took a bus to the girivalam starting point. Started the girivalam with sister, reached my school.

Lakhs of devotees will be coming to girivalam. walking 14km around mountains. for more details please refer this arunachalamystic.blogspot.com

We reached the Tiruvannamalai Temple, It has heavily crowded. We continued walking towards the mountain.

Annadhanam, the sacred tradition of offering food. Devotees don’t need to carry food while walking towards the mountain. they will be provided annadhanam everywhere around the mountain. If you one man carrying his child in the shoulder. We’re covered 60 percent of Girivalam. My sister is always lazy :)

We walked 9 km. I had annadhanam everywhere :). During this festival, around 10,000 Policeman from other districts will be put in charge for handling devotees. You will be safe for sure.

We completed our Girivalam. Usual my sister is so tired, so left her to go Home. I started my solo journey trekking towards the peak.

Trekking Ticket was distributed at early morning, I didn’t buy the ticket. I know, Police department always say this to us. I’m native to this place. I found another way to reach the summit.

After 30 minutes, guys when comes to trekking to the mountain, every mountain has up and down. I’m is impossible to master the Trekking Art. I really struggled climbing with barefoot. I started slow trekking.

After 30 min. It rained, oh god it was so cool, luckily I’m wearing and having the umbrella.

Magic after 30 min for the first I’m seeing fog covered the view and mountains. Oh god, it was so good. I was lucky. I feel the purity and blessing

After 30 minutes rain stopped. Climate comes back to normal.

One hour later I reached the peak, waiting for lit at around 6 pm at holy mountain. This is the same place, I waited last year for the same moments :)

6 pm. Maha Deepam will be lit using nearly 3500 kg of Ghee. This lit will be visible to 30 km radius. Devotees will be waiting from home, to view the Maha Deepam and lit the candles in their home.

Beliefs. People believe The Dark will be gone when Maha Deepam will be lit, then Lights up :)

Temple view from peak. Oh god It’s was mesmerizing. I don’t have digital camera, this is what I can do.

2 hr later, I trekked back to Tiruvannamalai Girivalam Road. Had annadhanam and reached home. spent my time with family

Life. I started living my life. we will see you in the next story, probably Trekking to Kodachadri :)

--

--