My Favorite Team is Ruining Football for Me

Matthew B. Johnson
South of Certainty
Published in
8 min readNov 17, 2021

--

“Are you ready for some football?!” the theme song for Monday Night Football asks.

And those of us who love the game respond with enthusiastic variations of
“Yes, I am, in fact, ready for some football!”

However, as much as I love football, especially on Monday Night, I’m dreading tonight’s game.

As I write this, it’s Monday morning. Tonight, my beloved San Francisco 49ers are playing the L.A. Rams. It’s a must-win division game for the Niners to have any chance at a Wild Card playoff spot.

Only, the Rams, coming in at 7–2, are one of the best teams in the league. Matt Stafford has given them a much-needed offensive boost, and they just picked up deep threat and future Hall of Fame receiver, Odell Beckham Jr. And their defense, led by monster-among-men Aaron Donald, who many analysists consider the best player in the game, just acquired All-Pro linebacker, Von Miller.

Tonight’s game could be a bloodbath.

I’ve been a San Francisco 49ers fan my whole life.

Don’t be alarmed. That loud series of clicks was just all the Cowboys, Raiders, Rams, Seahawks, and Cardinals fans closing their browsers in disgust.

--

--

Matthew B. Johnson
South of Certainty

I’m a Sacramento-based writer, English professor, track coach, C-5 incomplete quadriplegic, diehard 49ers fan, comic book geek, and lover of all things coffee.