People’s Angriest Reactions to My Being in a Wheelchair

Matthew B. Johnson
South of Certainty
Published in
7 min readMay 19, 2021

--

A black and white picture of an angry man
Image by Olya Adamovich from Pixabay

I’m guessing you read the title and thought, “People have actually gotten angry with you for being disabled?”

The short answer is, yes.

It doesn’t happen often, as most people have been incredibly kind and willing to help if the need arises.

For the few people who have gotten inexplicably angry at me after seeing me in my chair, I’m not sure if it’s the actual disability with which they become irate, or the circumstance in which they see me.

In every case, the chair is a factor, as, without it, none of these situations would either have happened or been as volatile.

But don’t take my word for it. Read the following real-life instances and judge for yourself.

In my younger and less sober days, I enjoyed going out to a bar on St. Paddy’s Day. Green beers, Irish whiskey, and the Dropkick Murphys, Flogging Molly, and Rumjacks playing on repeat.

They were good times…from what I remember.

--

--

Matthew B. Johnson
South of Certainty

I’m a Sacramento-based writer, English professor, track coach, C-5 incomplete quadriplegic, diehard 49ers fan, comic book geek, and lover of all things coffee.