The Dept. of Vocational Rehab is Failing Many People with Disabilities

Matthew B. Johnson
South of Certainty
Published in
9 min readFeb 17, 2021

--

A blue and white handicapped parking painting on the ground
Photo by Matt Artz on Unsplash

One of the most frustrating things about being in a wheelchair is that everyone has an opinion on the things you should be doing with your life. Sometimes they have experience with disabilities. Often they don’t.

For example, I was once informed against my will by a random stranger at a Starbucks that, if I worked really hard, I could one day be an Uber driver.

How he arrived at that particular conclusion, I have no idea.

However, when friends of mine who are also disabled give me advice or offer information, I tend to listen. They’re speaking from experience and a similar set of challenges.

In fact, my best post-injury mentors were the people who’d been in chairs for several years before I had my accident. I was and continue to be lucky to have those people in my life.

So when some friends and one of my mentors said I could get help paying for school from the Department of Vocational Rehabilitation, I listened.

“What is the Department of Vocational Rehabilitation?” you might be asking.

It’s a state agency whose mission is to help people with disabilities find employment and independent living through a variety of occupational training programs.

--

--

Matthew B. Johnson
South of Certainty

I’m a Sacramento-based writer, English professor, track coach, C-5 incomplete quadriplegic, diehard 49ers fan, comic book geek, and lover of all things coffee.