What does it mean to be a “Private Paralegal?”

Harrison Barganier
Southern Consultants, LLC.
2 min readJun 20, 2020

--

I have been a paralegal for over 19 years in Montgomery, Alabama, with a law firm that specialized in family law. For the past 2 years, I have branched out, together with my husband, and worked as a “Private Paralegal.”

Such as the highly reputable law firm where I worked for 19 years, we represented anywhere from 55–95 Clients at any given time. Each of these Clients required and deserved dedicated and full attention.

Every Client believes their case should be the law firm’s top priority and most important case, rightfully so. Wouldn’t you?

If a Client forks out $10,000.00, or more, to trust you and your law firm with their case and future, their case IS the most important

And, FYI, in my19 years of experience, I have never encountered a Client who just happens to have “extra” money laying around in case they need an attorney at some point. Do You?

So, every one of your Clients needs to know, and more importantly, “Feel,” that their case is important to your law firm and will receive the time and attention it deserves.

Also, as a paralegal, your firm’s attorneys are relying heavily on you to communicate with these Clients and convey that sense of importance while, at the same time, writing legal documents and completing an array of other paralegal duties, all within a “normal” workday, which, by the way, is NOT 8:00 to 5:00.

I didn’t plan to become what I now consider to be a “Private Paralegal” after 19 years in a very successful law firm, but the opportunity fell into my lap very organically and has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. While I loved my work as a paralegal at my law firm for 19 years, being able to devote ALL of my time and attention to one Client has been an amazing experience that I plan on keeping!

--

--