Southern Crescent Men: Meet Latavius Powell

Meet Latavius Powell

Tell the readers who you are and what problem you are solving in your business and/or career? I am the owner of a wealth management firm that primarily services professional athletes and entertainers. My initial focus was corporate executives and municipal underwriting but after being witnessing the financial mismanagement and deceptive practices prevalent within the sports and entertainment industries I decided to dedicate myself to teaching those individuals the proper methods of managing wealth.

How important is having a network for your personal and professional growth? I acknowledge that networking is imperative to personal and professional growth. “No man is an island” and the more qualified people you meet the easier it becomes to lighten your own load by referring to professionals you have come to trust. It also allows you to be the recipient of referrals you may have never received from people you may have never known. It allows me and my firm to have a presence in rooms although I may not physically be present in that room.

Why is this affiliate, SCMEN, a need? Even as I acknowledge the power of networking, the truth is I am still not the best at it, and it remains a work in progress for me. I am naturally introverted and certainly slow to trust. A network of qualified, like-minded professionals will eventually lead to collaboration. Collaboration yields exponential results for the collaborators and the community.

Share how essential having a great partner has been to your success? Having a great partner keeps me humble and driven. A true partner will always be honest with you when most people will pacify and pump you up if it best serves them. A good partner challenges you because they believe in you and what you are capable of even if the best version of yourself has not been sculpted yet.

If you are a father, what legacy have you built and what legacy are you continuing to build? How involved is your child(ren) in your business? I am building a legacy of confidence and a culture of success. I have built a great company that I love and would be honored if one you of my children would take interest in carrying on that legacy. However, my company spawned from my passion for finance and financial literacy. My kid’s passion must be their own. I am more focused on being a great role-model and teaching them a winner mentality so they will have the confidence to tackle whatever dreams they have of their own. My kids are very involved with my business. They asked a lot of questions and have gained a very good understanding on what dad does and who I do it for. I wanted them to understand why financial planning was important and why my clients pay me for it. I happen to work with several professional athletes so my kid’s attend professional sporting events with me and get to know my clients. It is always fun to watch sports with my kids and hear them acknowledge and cheer for my clients.

Share what is next on the horizon for your business? Lately I have been tackling the Name, Image and Likeness (NIL) space and offering my services to elite college and even high school athletes who are now allowed to monetize their name, image and likeness. So many financial mistakes are being made due to lack of financial knowledge and experience. It is very rewarding to see the impact my expertise is having on these families.

How do the readers connect with you? Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me via email at lataviuspowell@csgwealth.com. You can also follow me on instagram @lataviuspowell.

--

--