Space Science with Python — Goes YouTube

There are a lot of YouTube Python tutorials out there covering WebDev, Data Science, RPAs, etc. But what about space?

Thomas Albin
Space Science in a Nutshell
2 min readOct 7, 2021

--

Photo by SpaceX on Unsplash

Last year, during the miscellaneous lockdown phases I wanted to start with something creative! As a Python developer and former space scientists I missed giving seminars and teaching in general. So how could I spark my passion with my wish to educate others? Online tutorials! And that’s how my TowardsDataScience Space Science with Python series was born. In parallel I did also some free-time research activities, worked on some libraries for my projects and somehow lost a little bit sight of my tutorial series. I still have to finish my asteroid project in a Medium article after almost a year! But the library grew and grew and I got distracted with more science.

Now, a year after my last article I was thinking to restart my tutorial series and start with a “second season”. First, I want to finish of course the asteroid project that you see in the link above. But I also want to contribute something more… interactive. Something that you can follow more easily and authentic than “just pure text”. And for this I decided to start running a YouTube tutorial series with the same title, restarting my project from last year. That way, I hope to enable more people, to get in contact with more developers and coders, amateur astronomers and free-time data scientists.

I still need to improve some things, but I’d be glad to share my videos with you and I am looking forward to an active discussion on how citizen scientists can contribute something to the space science community.

Until next time,

Thomas

P.S.: If you have any feedback, suggestions or ideas, feel free to reach out to me via Twitter.

--

--

Thomas Albin
Space Science in a Nutshell

Data Scientist and Engineer. Astrophysicist and Solar System researcher — Now working in the automotive industry