My name is Suzi Bianco and I am an Architect of Space

Suzi Bianco
Space Decentral
Published in
4 min readFeb 25, 2018

--

Curiosity has always been one of my main characteristics. Like Carl Sagan, I yearn to understand everything around me. Even as a little girl, back in Brazil, I was fascinated by nature in all of its extensions, and experimented with everything I could in the limited confinements of the many backyards where I grew up.

In my search for explanations, I frequently turned to books and magazines. I would spend hours looking through my father’s diving and architecture magazines. I loved the underwater world and its bizarre creatures; it all seemed so alien to me.

Meanwhile, I was awed at the beautiful and complex buildings in the architecture magazines, and one of my favorite pastimes on rainy days was to draw blueprints of houses, schools and cities. It didn’t take long before I started coming up with submarines, underwater cities and houses with a deep ocean view. In a way, I was a space architect before I even knew what that was.

I spent three of my teenage years in the USA, and had the chance to visit the great museums of New York, Washington, Chicago, Boston… I had never had access to so much information before; it was beyond anything I could have imagined. My visit to the Smithsonian Museum and the Kennedy Space Center were particularly enlightening, and kindled my interest in the universe.

--

--

Suzi Bianco
Space Decentral

I’m a space architect, excited for what’s to come!