Learning courage through difficulty, with Faiz from Ground Up Solutions.

Daren Goh
Spacemob
Published in
3 min readMar 21, 2017

Without noticing my approach, Faiz is seated at the table in the event space with a coffee in hand. His gaze is fixed dead ahead, while he sips from his cup. His movement is slow and knowing, but quickens as I take my seat in front of him. He nods his chin at me and asks me how my day has been, before leaning back into his chair.

“I was ten years old, when I visited my uncle in Jakarta. He’d just sold his first company,” he says, looking straight at me. “Somehow, during my time as an army officer, I knew I had to go back to that one thing that adds value to people. That’s how I got into training, and decided to leave the army.”

As a student from one of the top schools in Singapore, what must have been a difficult decision to make, came to him easily. He left after his contract was up, and went straight to Jakarta to join his uncle in business. It just didn’t occur to him, exactly how hard it would be.

Faiz re-living his early days by attempting a parkour move

“My first venture was horrible. I was living in S$2 per day in Jakarta. I had to go from stall to stall to find food I could afford. I was really down,” he said. “But all throughout, we still put on our suits, and never gave up.”

Things have certainly looked up for Faiz since then. Together with his wife, he runs Ground Up, which provides training, research, and consultancy services for large companies. His staff is made up of freelancers and professionals who work remotely for him, and are grouped together for special projects throughout the region that he is tasked to work on.

“I’ve definitely matured a lot. I used to just jump on stuff when i wanted to do things, but now I look long term. I think things through for a few months.” He pauses to consider his words, while pinching his chin. “Most importantly, I’ve learnt to have the courage to step out of things if they don’t work out.”

Faiz with his wife and two of his four children

Through further quizzing, he acknowledges that the advice is rather trite, but you can’t avoid it. After two failed businesses, he’s learnt that it really is all about maintaining a balance in life, no matter how cliche that might sound. That’s why he’s brought on his wife to help run Ground Up with him, who he credits as being a major part of his success.

“Ironically enough, I seem to do things without thinking about the money. In fact, it’s my wife who always has her eye on the bottom line,” he says. “It’s true. You should always listen to your wife.” He sniggers to himself before giving me the knowing eye.

Faiz (left) one a trip with one of the many NGOs he works with

When asked about what’s next for him, he tells me that he’s working on delivering change management training in Indonesia, getting more involved in a knowledge management society, and also deepening his roots in the various charities he’s involved in. It’s clear that he’s involved in a lot of things, but I push him to find out what is most important to him.

“I’m not sure,” he says, shrugging and offering me a smile. “The possibilities are endless. In the end, as long as I’m making a positive impact on people, I’m happy.”

--

--