Possibilities aplenty, with Wince from Triple K Corp.

Daren Goh
Spacemob
Published in
3 min readFeb 9, 2017

“Actually, I grew up watching my parents run their own company. During the holidays, I used to help them pack cassette tapes and buttons, late into the night,” says Wince from Triple K, smiling gleefully to herself. “I guess that’s why I stopped working in-house. It was really boring.”

She sits demurely across from her, with her tiny frame barely filling up the seat. Her smile is a shy one, but her eyes are large with an infectious excitement and positivity about the future. Wince tells me about how she used to watch youtube videos at work, and got so frustrated that she decided to leave and set up Triple K Corporate Services, which provides corporate secretarial, accounting, and tax services for companies.

“I know it sounds strange, but sorting through a company’s records really makes me satisfied. That, and also working with a team and watching them grow,” she says. “I really hope I’ll be able to grow what I’ve started, and eventually have my own team.”

In fact, her foray into this industry was far from intentional. It was at a previous job that she was offered to take on a course, which allowed her to be a corporate secretariat and got her started on her ten-year long journey in this industry.

“I used to be a golfing instructor for children, which is very different from what I’m doing now. I can always switch, but I can’t think of anything I’ll be better at.” She tilts her chin to the side for a moment. “You could say that I’m really passionate about what I do.”

It’s true. At Spacemob, where all kinds of people are milling about, chatting over a coffee, you’ll find Wince seated at her Fixed Desk from the moment she’s in, till the time she leaves. You can hear her fingers fly across her keyboard in a flurry, as she walks back and forth from the printer, in between scouring over notes from the account that she’s working on.

“Outside of work? I’m quite simple. I fill my time with yoga, travel, and spending time with my dogs. Although, I could be more consistent about going for yoga,” she says. “You really feel refreshed, especially after hot yoga.”

Wince’s two golden retrievers

She goes on to tell me how she wishes she has more time to travel. Even after having been to most parts of Asia and Europe, she still feels like she hasn’t seen enough of the world. If the work takes her there, she would do it without question.

“I’d like to go see the northern lights one day,” she says. “As long as I get to see different cultures, the buildings they live in, the roads they drive on, and the history that each country has, I’ll keep travelling as much as I can.”

With that, she smiles and tucks her hands into her pockets to pull out her phone. She goes on to show me pictures of her dog, and asks me if I have pets too. I acquiesce, and show her photos of my two cats, following which we share silly stories of our pets, as we finish our coffee.

--

--