Spacemob Insiders: Rizal

Hsiang Ling Low
Spacemob
Published in
2 min readSep 20, 2017

“The most challenging and memorable experience happened recently when I was in Nepal with my fiance. We trekked in Annapurna for about 12 days and she was physically unfit and when we were about to reach the top, she got very sick. It was just the two of us, there was no guide, and we were all alone. Due to the high altitude, she became really dizzy and I sensed that she was about to faint. It was raining heavily, it was cold, and we were already 4,000 meters above sea level and I had to decide whether I should carry her and bring her down or bring her up. It was a tough decision to make because if I brought her up, she‘d get more sick. She needed to go down, but it would take 5 hours, and we’d have a dangerous night trek ahead of us. In the end, I decided to bring her to the top and it was the right decision! She was able to get some rest and she felt much better the next morning. She even wanted to continue climbing up!

Once we reached base camp, I proposed to her. The whole experience itself was challenging yet rewarding in the end.” (Claymore, Singapore)

Spacemob Insiders is a series of short quotes that showcases the members that make up Spacemob’s community.

--

--