Through the eyes of an intern

Murelle Garrigos
Spacemob
Published in
3 min readAug 7, 2017

Another summer means another internship however, little did I know that the internship I was about to embark on would be my most challenging one yet.

In my first week at Spacemob, I was already faced with various tasks that not only challenged my skills and mental capabilities but also took me out of my comfort zone. We were encouraged, as interns at Spacemob, to organize our own events, to voice out our ideas freely and most importantly to think ‘outside the box’.

Unlike any of my other internships, this notion of freedom and flexibility was new and intimidating to me. Intimidating in the sense that I needed to take my ideas a step further, think deeper and push myself out of the confines of what I was already familiar with. Brainstorming ideas for the social media content was one thing but designing and creating it was a whole different ball game. Even without a background in design or let alone in Photoshop, I was given the opportunity to produce my own content.

I just had to “make it emotional. Make it smart. Make it deep.” as Daren (Head of Marketing) easily put it…

Although this was initially difficult to grasp, I began to draw inspiration and learn from the people around me- the other interns and employees at Spacemob, and the freelancers and companies that operate there. Through working amongst individuals such as theses- some working alone, some working to build new companies from scratch and some working at organisations already well established- I started to pick up different insights and ideas. I began to gain more confidence in myself and my own capabilities. Though I am still learning the ropes for generating meaningful and unique content, I could not have been more pleased with my progress. What initially seemed to be such a daunting task, eventually turned into something mentally engaging and enjoyable.

Some of the members at Spacemob

I think this is the beauty of being at a coworking space- you are surrounded by passionate and ambitious individuals filled with so much energy and drive, that you can’t help but have some of that infectious motivation pass onto you too. I’ve learnt that surrounding yourself with people who can inspire and encourage you can definitely help you grow and thrive- or in my case, turn doubts into catalysts of positivity and determination.

My fellow co-workers

In my short time here, I have met the most remarkable and compassionate people with awe-inspiring experiences. After all, what better way to learn than by interacting with those who have done it all already? From learning search engine optimization to the importance of community management, every day at Spacemob is different- every day at Spacemob allows me to learn something new. Meeting all these people has definitely made me more motivated and determined to tackle the obstacles of the future head on. With all the invaluable lessons I have learned, and am still learning, I look forward to being able fulfil my aspirations and create something that I could be proud of.

--

--