Turning gems into stories, with An Order of Bling.

Daren Goh
Spacemob
Published in
3 min readNov 7, 2016

“This is my first ever interview,” says Sara, with an excited gleam in her eyes. She shifts in her seat to straighten her posture. “So, where shall we start?”

From the custom rings and jewellery that she designs, you’ll never guess that she isn’t a trained designer. Each piece she shows me exudes a classiness that requires an eye for craft, but retains a quirkiness that draws you towards it. In fact, she got into this only two years ago, as the result of a partnership with a friend. It was when she decided to take it seriously, that she went solo and turned it into a business. That was when An Order of Bling began.

“Stepping into a jewellery shop is always, always intimidating. I hope the people who come to me, never feel that way. I mean, each piece is meant to commemorate something special. It’s a milestone, and over time, a history grows from it.”

It’s blindingly obvious that Sara feels very strongly about this. She recounts how a customer selected a pink gem for its aesthetic, not knowing that it was the gemstone of love and friendship. As an added effort, Sara included a writeup-length text along with the jewellery box as a summary of how it enhances a person’s relationship with each other.

“I always try to understand why or what they want to buy. In most cases, it’s always for someone else,” she says, pausing to sip from her coffee. “So if I understand the receiving person’s personality, I can find ways to express that through the work, even if it means sorting through a thousand pearls to find a pair that is the exact same size. It adds depth to the stories behind the pieces I make.”

Through our conversation, stories are clearly the currency for what she does. Similarly, her work history is as interesting as any story should be. It’s taken her from a corporate job in an IT company, to fundraising for the National Museum of Singapore, and even starting her own cafe for mothers. But she’s taken everything in stride. Being open and trying anything at least once, is something that has governed her life, and continues to do so.

“It’s about not being afraid,” she says, reflectively. “I grew up in a conservative family, where I was never allowed to do anything creative because that’s not where money is made.” She pauses to think. “But here I am, running my own business.”

Despite being serious about her work, her interests run far and wide. She quizzes me about my favourite contemporary artists, and goes on to rattle out names of different artists whose work she absolutely adores. She doesn’t stop there, and instead insists that I show her the work of artists I have just mentioned, wanting to know more about them, no matter the discipline or medium they operate in. Our conversation is peppered with infectious hilarity, coupled with a strong sense of positivity that she naturally exudes.

“I like to laugh, and hang around people who do so too,” she says. “I wish I had more time to read, or look at beautiful pictures all day. I love Pinterest. I wish I could travel more. And sometimes I just want to stay home with my kids.”

She stops as fast as she begins, before turning her attention to me to ask about the latest books I’ve read. She asks for recommendations, and jots them down quickly in her phone, before sipping down the rest of her coffee.

--

--