Entering Free Project — My very first Web Radio Project

Right before even officially starting my studies in the Department of Communication, Media and Culture Department of Panteion University I wanted to be part of its infmaous Web Radio Station. I wanted to explore all of the aspects of communication and being part of a medium that I always and still love, the radio, seemed like a dream coming true.

So before even stepping foot at my university, once I knew I was accepted to study there I saw that there was a need for young producers so eagerly I applied and made sure to give a few knocks on the door so they wont forget to reply back to me. When the good news came,that I could finally start my very own web radio show, I was filled with excitement.

I knew my limitations and that it was not going to be easy. I also knew that I could not start right away on my own or interview people. It is not easy to broadcast live, always find something smart to say and not stagger with your words. I started out my very first radio show with a fellow student and Entering Free Project was born.

Entering Free project was a project that i worked upon for two years. It was always a cultural oriented show in which we would talk about free events and happening that would occur either in Athens or Thessaloniki. We would broadcast live once a week for two hours straight. We would essentially inform our audience on diverse ways to have funn and enjoy themselves without having to pay anything.

It was very fun because through our show we woud find interesting things to do and places to visit for ourselves as well. The first one and a half year I would be doing the show with this fellow student of mine. Later I took over the show on my own which was a very important step to make. During that time, instead of only broadcasting live our research about the events with free entrance that we would gather during the week, I tried to bring over some aqcuaintances of mine in order to interview them. I would try to make some show more thematic, bring a guest and present events such as seminars and workshops close to their field of interests and talk about them.

This last six months of Entering Free project I learned to be more dependent, I had already learned to be talk fluently while broadcasting live plus having now and then a guest. I undoubtly learned a lot of things during this period of time. In general I learned to research and present content, I learned how to control my very own show and finally how to invite and host a guest. Two very full years. Apart from all these, I would manage the shows facebook page, update it and create posters, banners, videos and other advertising content. It essentially was a chance to make my very first copywriting and community management steps.

You can find this work in the link bellow as the Facebook Page still exists (inactive) to this day:

--

--

Stavroula Pollatou (Student Account)
Spam Radio Shows by Stavroula Pollatou

Projects during my studies at the Department of Communication, Media and Culture @Panteion University (2016–2019)