Scamerican dream

Chapter 51. From author 3 (2011)

John Smith
Spam Scam Skim
2 min readJan 9, 2015

--

‘That’s it, end of story. Now you know everything about us and even more.’ said Max and smiled with his eyes. He looked relieved and happy. He finally shared all of the things that bothered him and wouldn’t let him be content.

‘Max, slow down, I am even more confused now. What was it that influenced your decision in the end? Lisa, Vipassana or your new philosophy?’

‘Tough question. I think, a little of each. But Lisa, certainly, more so. If she didn’t appear, I ‘d still get there, but later.’

‘How so?’

‘Lisa accelerated the process, she made me make a choice, so I chose Love. Do you see what I mean?’

‘I think so,’ I responded thoughtfully. ‘By the way what do you think will happen to your friends?’

‘I hope that after this story gets published my friends won’t get angry at me, but will instead think of what they’re doing and maybe change their minds.

‘And what about you? What will you do?’ I asked and instantly realized how stupid my question sounded. What’s done is done though, and so I waited for an answer. Max smiled at me in a fatherly fashion, like a dad delighted with his kid’s first clumsy antics.

‘Lisa and I will travel the world until we get bored. When we do, we’ll settle somewhere by the ocean, Lisa will carry my children. I’ve also long wanted a big dog, I’ll take it out on walks on the beach at dawn.’

The phone rang; Max said “yes” dryly into it and hung up.

I was finally starting to realize that I’d never see him again.

‘Well, it’s time for me to go,’ With those words he reached out his hand and I shook it. We hugged; I had tears in my eyes. ‘Thanks for everything, friend’ said Max and walked off without looking back once.

Through the window I saw him getting into his gorgeous car. The Mercedes pulled out of the parking gracefully and sped away. I wanted to wave at him, but something held me back. I spent a while at that café after Max left. Drinking one cup of coffee after another, I couldn’t help but wonder what actually happened to this man.

The reasons that Max talked about made me think of my own life and goals, about how our actions can influence lives of perfect strangers, and about how, in the final analysis, what we do, should benefit humanity. What else is there? It seems unlikely that we’re born just so we can acquire and enjoy the benefits of civilization.

--

--