Scamerican dream

Chapter 48. The ultimatum (2010)

John Smith
Spam Scam Skim
3 min readJan 9, 2015

--

A few days later Lisa called me.

‘Max, I am leaving the day after tomorrow, and we need to talk before I leave. Let’s meet at a café today at 4.’

‘Okay.’

I was a bit late, so I texted Lisa to warn her. At 4.15 I was at the café. I found Lisa easily, she was sitting by the window with a book.

‘What are you reading?’

Finding Peace.

‘Is that about war?’

‘Yes, it’s about the war within our minds.’

‘Who’s the author?’

‘His name won’t mean anything to you. The author is a simple Vietnamese Buddhist monk.’

‘Interesting book?’

‘Very. I don’t think thieves will enjoy it.’

‘Are you trying to insult me? Did you call me just to fight?’

‘No. Sorry, Max. I’ve been thinking about you all these days, how to convince you to abandon this slippery path.’

‘Have you come up with a plan?’

‘No. Max, would you want me to be your girlfriend, or wife, whatever? In other words, would you want me to be by your side?’

‘Of course.’

‘I want to see you every morning when I open my eyes.’

‘So what’s the issue if we both want the same?’

‘Max, the problem is that I don’t want to live in this country and you can’t leave and travel the world with me. The problem is, even if I stay here for you, I don’t want to shiver every time a police car goes past our house. I am afraid to lose you, so we should probably break up.’

‘So you’re so afraid to lose me that you’re going to throw me out of your life? Sounds ridiculous.’

‘It’s not ridiculous. Now, while we’re still living separately, I am not as attached to you as I will be if we wake up and have coffee in bed every morning together. Do you see?’

‘No.’

‘Just as I expected. How much money do you have? How much have you stolen from the inhabitants of that town?’

‘What?’

‘Remember when I asked you, how many people you’ve cheated, and you said there would be enough victims to populate an entire small town.’

‘So?’

‘How much money have you got?’

‘A lot.’

‘Max, let’s buy one way tickets to some warm country. Fly away tomorrow, buy a house on the ocean side, get a dog and do yoga in the morning at dawn. I also want kids. At least three.’

‘What then?’

‘Death, same as everyone. Or do you think that if you stay here with your gang you’ll live forever?’

‘That’s not what I am talking about. What will we live on?’

‘We can live on the five thousand I make from renting the flat out. Your money should be enough to buy us a nice house and put the rest of in the bank, with good interest. When our kids turn 16, we’ll divide it equally among them.’

‘Some imagination you’ve got, Lisa. But I think it’s not a realistic option at the moment.’

‘You sure?’

‘Yes!’

‘Shame. Max, but what of our son?’

‘What son? What are you talking about?’

‘Just Imagine that we have a son and when he grows up he will definitely be curious about his father’s job. You know, boys want to be like their fathers. What will you tell him?’

‘I didn’t think about it.’

‘Will you tell him the truth?’

‘No’

‘So you’ll lie to him?’

‘No.’

‘But what will you tell him?’

‘I don’t know yet, but by that time I’ll make something up.’

‘Maybe you needn’t make anything up? Maybe it’s easier and better to give it all up?’

‘ It’s easier and better for you, maybe.’

‘Have you ever thought of atoning for your evildoing?’

‘You want me to give myself up to the cops?’

‘Do you hold me for an idiot?’

‘No. Maybe you want me to give all my money away to cyber crime victims? What else can I do?’

‘Wrong again. I think you can do much.’

‘ For example?’

‘For example, you can create a website where you’ll teach people to evade the hackers’ traps online.’

‘I told you, I am not a hacker.’

‘Doesn’t matter what you call yourself. You know exactly what I mean.’

‘I do. But I don’t think it’ll help anyone.’

‘Don’t think, just do it.’

‘I don’t want to.’

‘I see. Max, I’d like you to hear me and change your life. If something in your head snaps, you know my email.’

Lisa got up and hugged me gently.

‘I’ll be waiting for your letter,’ she whispered in my ear.

--

--