Scamerican dream

Chapter 49. From author 2 (2011)

John Smith
Spam Scam Skim
1 min readJan 9, 2015

--

That morning the taxi came for me, as usual, and drove me in an unknown direction. After 40 minutes of being stuck in traffic I was finally there. Max was already there, as usual, sat at the table and drinking tea.

‘Hello, friend!’

‘Good morning, Max.’

‘I have good news!’

‘What? Does this café have a 70% discount on the breakfast menu?’

‘You guessed wrong,’ said Max, smiling. ‘It’s our last meeting’

‘Are you joking?’

‘No jokes, friend. This is the end. I mean, end of story.’

I was at a loss. I didn’t know whether to be glad or upset with the news. I was really used to those meetings and first-person stories of secrets, schemes and machinations that Max told me about. They were truly interesting and engaging. Hearing a story like that was a chance of a lifetime.

‘You said it’d 10–12 meetings!’

‘True. It’s the tenth today.’

‘Really? Already?’

Max only smiled and nodded.

‘I told you everything, but I am sure you’re tormented by a question. Why did I decide to stop? Right?’

‘Well, because of Lisa, probably,’ I said uncertainly.

‘Good guess, but I won’t overburden you with philosophy; I’ll tell you another story instead. The last story.’

‘What story?’

‘Let’s call it ‘Nick and his 401k.’

‘Funny name,’ I laughed.

‘Well, to be honest, I didn’t feel much like laughing at the time.

--

--