Achievers’ Archive (Anmol Mishra)

Interviewee: Anmol Mishra, Mechanical Engineering (2017–2021)

Intern at Dr.Reddy’s Laboratories

Placed in Hero Motocorp

SIME: Which company you have been placed in and what is the job description?

Anmol: I am placed in Hero Motocorp and my job description is managing the plant manufacturing operations and driving operational excellence in plant operations. Currently, I am doing a 6-month internship in Dr Reddy’s Laboratories in the operational excellence department.

SIME: How is this new transition in life is going for you? How do you manage your workload and social life?

Anmol: I believe that there is a wide step which a person takes when he/she goes from college life to professional life. Personally speaking, the transition is smooth for me because from the very first year of my college I am part of a technical club named Srijan, where the work culture was very much professional which is helping me in the current professional world. As you start working in the corporate world you will find it difficult to keep work out of your personal life but if you want to live a healthy and peaceful you should keep these two things apart. I am also learning ways to do so although I have gathered some experience in my college as being a technical member and then joint president of the team which is helping me now in time management.

SIME: How was your college life? Were you a part of any club or society in college and how did they help you?

Anmol: The college life was very happening, as in whole it was a great memorable journey. I have seen myself grow from an irresponsible man to a responsible and disciplined man at least to some extent. I am in team Srijan and currently, working as the joint president in the team. I joined as a technical member and worked as a brake member and then as a brake-subteam lead. Other than the obvious benefits of being in a team like that, I can say that team Srijan also helped me to boost up my interpersonal skills. I think that being in clubs helped me to have progressive thinking and gave me the necessary confidence and the proper way of putting my technical thoughts in front of others. I would like to add that irrespective of my engagement in the team I was able to manage my time to enjoy college life as well.

SIME: Since you appeared in the online recruitment process. How was this new experience? According to you, which one is more beneficial for students?

Anmol: In my opinion, during the online recruitment process there are added issues such as network problems as well as chances of unfair advantages to some candidates but among them, the most important issue is that you are not physically present in front of the interviewer, So there is a chance that your true capabilities and personality is not judged. So according to me if you appear for an offline interview then your success will depend more on your capabilities than luck.

SIME: How one can prepare for internships and what role it plays in a placement process?

Anmol: The internship period depends on technical knowledge. I believe that the interview we face during internship is different than those we do during our final year for placements. In the internship period, 70% is the technical part. So, one should be thorough with the basic concepts and the subjects which you studied till the 4th semester. I was not able to clear campus internship but that did not affect my placement interview as I had ample work to show and support my skills in form of projects and had a hands-on experience which helped me in my placement interview process. Industrial exposure and internships will help you in placement, but you should not completely rely on them.

SIME: What are the projects and competitions that you have worked/participated in during your college years and how did they help in your placement and internship?

Anmol: I was an active member of team Srijan where I designed the brake system of the car and also designed an electric accumulator capable to withstand 40g of deceleration. The projects greatly helped me to showcase my technical skills and make the interviewer understand my grasp of the subjects.

SIME: What was the selection procedure of your company? Is there any advice you would like to give your juniors while preparing for PI?

Anmol: This is a 3-step process.

1. Technical Round,

2. Group Discussion

3. Personal Interview/ HR Interview.

The tip for my juniors will be that you need to sound technical, no one is expecting you to remember those lengthy formulas that you used to solve those numerical in your semester exams but you should have the basic concepts clear. Most of the companies are there to check your managerial skills. So, one should have interpersonal skills.

SIME: Apart from CGPA, what other skills one should incur to make a strong CV/Resume?

Anmol: CGPA is an initial selection criterion as well it demonstrates your studies. Other than CGPA, one should have an extra-curriculum, as it helps in emphasizing your personality. One should have anything apart from CGPA may it be a project, social- curriculum so that it will help you to connect with the interviewer.

SIME: Do you have any plans for further studies or giving competitive exams?

Anmol: Right now, I am more focused to build up experience in the core industrial field. I am planning to pursue an MBA degree after getting decent experience in the industry.

SIME: A piece of general advice you would like to give to your juniors….

Anmol: I would advise that you should be interactive and make a constructive friend circle. Coming out of your comfort zone will help you in building yourself as a person. Keep exploring and be active for your good-will.

--

--

Society for Industrial Management and Engineering
SPARK by SIME

SIME, BIT Mesra is a society where the aspects of industrial engineering and management are incorporated in the interested undergraduates of BIT Mesra.