Achievers’ Archive (N. Anirudh Raju)

Interviewee: Anirudh Raju, Production Engineering (2017–2021)

Intern at Dr Reddy’s Laboratory

FTE at Hero Motocorp

SIME: Which company you have been placed in and what’s the job description?

Anirudh: I have two offers as of now, one of them is 6 months internship with Dr Reddy’s Laboratories and a full-time employment offer from Hero Motocorp as a GET.

SIME: How this new transition in life is going for you? How do you manage your workload and social life?

Anirudh: The transition has been really smooth all thanks to the company and its employees. They have been really patient with all my doubts and helping me with my tasks. The work timings here are 8 A.M -6 P.M but I am still in the process to find a balance between work and social life.

SIME: How was your college life? Were you a part of any club or society in college and how did they help you?

Anirudh: I would say my college life was enriching in terms of the experiences it gave me. I am currently working as the president of the Society for Industrial Management and Engineering. Apart from SIME, I am an active member of Robolution. I would not say being in a club helps you get a job but the exposure, technical/non-technical experience and the opportunity it provides, the team spirit that it instils certainly gives you an edge.

SIME: Since you appeared in the online recruitment process. How was this new experience? According to you, which one is more beneficial for students?

Anirudh: I would say the new process was good as you could calmly give your online test and hide your gestures of anxiety and stress from the interviewer but it also comes with an additional tension of connectivity issues and technical glitches.

SIME: How one can prepare for internships and what role it plays in a placement process? Where did you pursue your internship? Whether doing many training and internships helps during placement?

Anirudh: You need to constantly look for competitions or contacts, which can offer you an internship in your field of interest. The project gives you a first-hand industry experience as well as inculcates you with technical knowledge with its application in the practical world. I did my internships in Tata Motors and Tata Steel.

SIME: What are the projects and competitions that you have worked/participated in during your college years and how they helped in your placement and internship?

Anirudh: I had a training project in Tata motors and a research internship at Tata steel. Apart from that my team was selected as the national finalist of Hero Campus Challenge season 5 as well as the national finalist of Tata Steel Mind over Matter season 7. Both the companies offered me a PPI and I converted Hero Motocorp’s PPI.

SIME: What was the selection procedure for your company? Is there any particular advice you would like to give your juniors while preparing for PI?

Anirudh: DRL was on campus with normal online test and PI (technical). Hero Motocorp’s interview was tough and tested me on core mechanical concepts. One advice from my side would be just don’t panic in an interview. Just give to the point answers.

SIME: Apart from CGPA, what other skills one should incur to make a strong CV/Resume?

Anirudh: Firstly one should decide which field he/she likes to go in. Start working on your skills related to your field of interest and work on 2–3 good projects. I think that would be enough to have a great resume.

SIME: Do you have any plans for further studies or giving competitive exams?

Anirudh: I have given a thought about management studies but nothing concrete as of now. My focus now is on gaining work experience.

SIME: A general advice you would like to give to your juniors?

Anirudh: Create a good balance between enjoying your present and building your future. You should not be left with any regrets.

Click here to connect and know more about N. Anirudh Raju!

Interview and Documentation by IAR Team, SIME, BIT Mesra

--

--

Society for Industrial Management and Engineering
SPARK by SIME

SIME, BIT Mesra is a society where the aspects of industrial engineering and management are incorporated in the interested undergraduates of BIT Mesra.