Finding Creative Freedom in a Graphic Novel

The joy, pain and anxiety of creativity without restraints.

Kevin Manklow
Sparking Creativity

--

Last night I found myself at an impasse. I’m creating a graphic novel and I’m fairly happy with the results. As it stands, I’ve produced a script for two issues (or chapters) of THE BONESETTER. I have exciting character designs, an established logo and 20 pages of thumbnail art as guides to the finished page layouts. I’m fairly new to this creative process, as it often differs from my daily routine as an art director in the advertising/marketing sector. I am however, comfortable enough to know when I’m not happy with my work. The question is…do I throw it all away and start again, simply because I’ve discovered a better, more creative idea?

Various pieces of art and design for THE BONESETTER graphic novel.

I find myself writing this summary of the evening events to help in the clarification of my situation. Like a detective looking for clues to the big mystery, I need to determine what went wrong, and what actions to take to rectify my dilemma.
After diving into my second cup of coffee last night, it came to me. A simple idea that brought all my previous ideas together, thus connecting character, plot and story in such a unique and fantastic way that, I had to investigate further.
So why in the world am I hesitating to proceed in this new direction? Is my new idea too much for that mass market that I strive to please? Or, is it due to years (Many, many years.) of working in a client directed, budget adhering, deadline driven industry such as marketing and advertising? My issue (And I have a few) is this. I’ve already invested too much time and money to re-start my graphic novel again, at the eleventh hour. This is the unfortunate reality of business, and to any future (fingers crossed) publisher; THE BONESETTER will be a product that helps grows a business. Then again, what does reality mean…really?

Trial and error…repeat! Some of the hardships when creating for yourself.

Our perception of reality is absolutely flexible, foggy, elastic and relative. The reality is that, I have no publisher, nor budget or hard deadline. My graphic novel is a chance for me to express my personal version of a true creative freedom. Creativity requires inventiveness not restraints. The best ideas come from the freedom of a personal expression, one that holds no boundaries or limitations. Why in the world should I settle for the restraints of what’s deemed acceptable and safe? I want to create a story that opens minds and evokes an emotional appreciation for its character and conflicts. I want to feel excited every-time I see a finished piece of art or written page.

Creature concept art! Nothing beats a good creature sketch, always puts a smile on my face!

I know what I need to do. It’s time to break the cycle of my own sensible, trained limitations, and really, truly, find the enjoyment in creating this graphic novel. I’ll throw it away and start again because, why wouldn’t I?

There will inevitably be some things that go wrong along the way but if you can’t make the right choice at such an impasse, then you can nervy truly be happy with the outcome of your creative freedom. Whatever it may be.

THE BONESETTER: Graphic Novel Created by Kevin Manklow

--

--

Kevin Manklow
Sparking Creativity

I’m an art director by trade & aspiring comic book creator in my spare time. My current project can be found here: www.thebonesetter.net