The Only Inelastic Resource

Austin Mann
Sparks Fly
Published in
2 min readJun 22, 2016

Time is truly the only inelastic resource … you simply can’t get more of it! The most effective people, in any field, know where their time goes and they carefully plan how they will spend it (just like finances.) Tracking time can be tough to do well. I’ve been using Timing App for the past couple of years, and it’s really helped me better understand where and how I use my time.

It allows me to see exactly how long I’ve spent in every single window and classify everything into projects and categories. This includes specific emails to people, specific notes or outlines, specific folders I’m browsing and more…

At least once per week and at the end of the year, I review my Timing data to get a grasp on where my time is going and what I’ve been working on. I often realize I’ve spent way more time on something than I should have or not enough time on something that needs attention.

Whether you use Timing App or another method, start the practice of tracking your time and you’ll find it has a powerful effect on your productivity in work and in your life.

*Thanks for the insights into this topic from Peter Drucker.

--

--

Austin Mann
Sparks Fly

Travel photographer & tech geek. Founded @WELD because I believe we were made to create together.