Photo by Jens Lelie on Unsplash

How to take the Stress out of Your Decision

Why it isn’t a Right versus Wrong choice

--

Recently, I’ve made a big decision — a life-changing decision. I’m leaving my employer of 20 years. I now have to decide which job I want next. One of my colleagues gave me some advice that changed how I think about decision making. It reframed my decision, took away the stress, and I know it can help you too.

Their advice helped me make a decision with far less stress. This is because, with their advice, I did not have to make a decision between a right and wrong option.

Decision Making

It seems like we make more decisions now than people have ever had to before. It is predicted that the number of decisions we will have to make daily will continue to rise.

Some studies have estimates that you make about 35,000 decision daily, I think this is a fallacy, but we do make a lot. So how does our brain prioritise the important ones?

It is all down to the importance you place upon it, at that exact moment in the environment you are in, with the information you have.

For this reason, in hindsight, there is often bad decisions and good decisions. Your hindsight tells you, with the information I know have, that was a bad decision. Or, “now that I am

--

--

Leon Purton
Sparks Publication

Inspired by life. Leadership, Growth, Personal Development. Engineer and Sports Enthusiast. Top Writer in Leadership leonpurton.com