Writing | Accountability

If Busyness Distracts, Then Accountability Attracts

Your nonjudgmental partner awaits your next check-in. Don’t leave them hanging.

B. Morey Stockwell, PhD
Sparks Publication
Published in
5 min readDec 18, 2023

--

Photo by Mari Helin on Unsplash

Yesterday was the birthday of my dear friend EP.

EP was my first reader.

I credit her with helping me finish my first novel.

EP and I found each other by accident or divine intervention.

Here’s the short story:

Many years ago, when my husband and I operated a drapery workroom in the barn behind our house, I desperately needed help. We had already hired several people that we found by placing ads in the newspaper’s local ‘help wanted’ section.

First, there was French Pat- who immigrated from France and had experience working in the Ethan Allen Furniture Store’s workroom.

French Pat had the work ethic of a machine- and the bladder to match. At the time, we did not have a restroom in the barn and instead had to go into our house, which she never did! Remarkable!!).

Then, we found Jackie, a young mother of two who suffered from burnout from her regular job as an operating room nurse.

--

--

B. Morey Stockwell, PhD
Sparks Publication

I’m a writer who writes about writing… and other topics that bring me joy. Find tips and strategies to enhance your creativity at www.doyourart.org.