Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

A hearty set-it-and-forget-it meal, perfect for busy winter nights

Eileen Wiedbrauk
Speak Coffee To Me

--

Photo by Correen on Unsplash | Not actually my recipe in the photo, but it‘s really hard to make Beef Stroganoff look photogenic so I’m gonna give the photographer some mad props and just go with it.

What kind of beef to use for stroganoff?

Usually, I grab the cheapest cut of beef that’s wrapped up in my freezer. Sometimes this is ground beef. Sometimes I have a not-high-end haunch … chunk? … fillet? … steak? I always think of fillets and steaks as being fancy. But my grocer calls just about any flat cut of beef that isn’t ground “steak,” which I guess … okay, sure. Whatever.

I don’t buy pre-cubed beef “stew meat” because the cubes are huge and way more expensive than the same cut of meat that’s not-cubed.

“Stew meat” cuts (when not-yet-cubed) include round, chuck, sirloin — and others, but what I always get for stroganoff is one of the above three. So, no, I have nothing enlightening to say about oxtail.

Which do I use for beef stroganoff? Whichever is on sale. Yup. I’m super picky. Not. Not picky at all. Not about this.

If you’re worried the cut of meat you have is going to be too fatty, then omit the butter in the recipe below. Until you get to the end of cooking and can see how things are looking.

Should I sear the beef before adding it to the slow cooker?

--

--

Eileen Wiedbrauk
Speak Coffee To Me

Writer. Geek. Coffee addict. Former editor. MFA grad. Odyssey Workshop alum. Library fangirl. Escaped cubicle minion. Home cook. On a mission for better health.