Never Got Caught

JG Cannady
Speak The Coyote
Published in
1 min readFeb 13, 2024

My brother spent 10 years down at Smith’s Prison

For petty crimes that good ole boys just find themselves in

I sent him letters and sent him some pictures of hot women

We wrote about all the ways our hell raisin lives had been

I said hey little brother I was bad as you

But it ain’t nobody’s fault

We were born to lose since we got shoes

Good thing that I never got caught

I never got caught on a backroad going 95

Or stealing loose change so the kids could stay alive

Or with my pants down over at my girlfriend’s sister

She’s a hot little number and I bet you’re gonna miss her

I said hey little brother I was as bad as you

And it ain’t nobody’s fault

While you were doing the time I was writing the rhymes

Good thing that I never got caught

Well he’s a trustee of the warden now I heard

And I know that to you that might sound absurd

But he can knife skin a gopher

Steal a penny from a loafer

He’s quicker than a space ghost roller coaster

The only way he’s different than me

Is I never got caught

Well they say he’s goin home

This time next Tuesday

And he’s already got a date with little Suzy

Well there’s gonna be a bout

When her daddy finds out

You’re gonna hear a preacher man

Scream and shout

I said hey little brother go on

It ain’t nobody’s fault.

--

--