Texas Days

JG Cannady
Speak The Coyote
Published in
2 min readNov 11, 2023

There’s a hippy girl in Austin

She is dancing in the rain

I can still smell her wildflowers

I guess some things never change

She is kissed by the sun shower

She is bathing in the light

She is everything I wanted

She is everything I fight

Texas days

Burn like the sun

They were perfect for the moment

But that moment has long gone

She’s still naked in the moonlight

She’s still swimming in the spring

Texas days

Play like a movie

Forever on my screen

She is wearing a blue bonnet

Laced with golden yellow hair

Her skin is soft from dew drops

Making love somewhere out there

She is calling me from heaven

She is worshiped by her name

She is everything I’ve dreamed of

She is every wild untamed

Texas days

Burn like the sun

They were perfect for the moment

But that moment has long gone

She’s still naked in the moonlight

She’s still swimming in the spring

Texas days

Play like a movie

Forever on my screen

She’s a band that’s always playing

She’s a plain of rolling hills

She’s a cool dip in the country

She’s a mighty test of will

She is everything you wanted

She is all you cannot have

She is a memory, I am haunted

I just look back and I laugh

Texas days

Burn like the sun

They were perfect for the moment

But that moment has long gone

She’s still naked in the moonlight

She’s still swimming in the spring

Texas days

Play like a movie

Forever on my screen

JG Cannady 11/11/23

--

--