Waiting For The One That Never Comes

JG Cannady
Speak The Coyote
Published in
2 min readNov 2, 2023

Writhing in my sleep

In a dream

I toss and turn

My ghosts are chasing me again

There’s a wick

I let it burn

I am walking through a doorway

To the corner of my mind

I see memories of you

You know

It happens all the time

I am waiting for your footsteps

I am waiting for your breath

I am waiting for this moment

Because, I have nothing left

The angels, they won’t help me out

The watchman’s on a break

The lighthouse keeper went back down

The bell don’t ever ring

I am waiting for the morning

I am waiting for the sun

I keep waiting for an answer

And the one that never comes

There’s a journal on a table

Where I wrote it on a page

There’s a song that I will sing to you

One very special day

There’s a terrace

On the ocean

Where I stand and call your name

There’s a song

Inside my head

You know

It never sounds the same

I am waiting for your footsteps

I am waiting for your breath

I am waiting for this moment

Because, I have nothing left

The angels, they won’t help me out

The watchman’s on a break

The lighthouse keeper went back down

The bell don’t ever ring

I am waiting for the morning

I am waiting for the sun

I keep waiting for an answer

And the one that never comes

A broken guitar in the corner

There’s a fiddle with no strings

There’s a horn that’s old and tarnished

And that’s all tomorrow brings

There’s a place that I will follow you

Where the music plays again

I keep waiting for my rescue

But it has not happened yet

I am waiting for your footsteps

I am waiting for your breath

I am waiting for this moment

Because, I have nothing left

The angels, they won’t help me out

The watchman’s on a break

The lighthouse keeper went back down

The bell don’t ever ring

I am waiting for the morning

I am waiting for the sun

I keep waiting for an answer

And the one that never comes

JG Cannady 11/02/23

--

--