On Creating Your Own Voice

Sarra Jouini
Speak Up Schools
Published in
4 min readDec 19, 2017

Listen to your own voice, your own soul. Too many people listen to the noise of the world, instead of themselves.

-Leon Brown

I asked high school pupils which is better: “To follow someone else’s echo” or “to listen to your own voice”. Here are their responses:

Assala Guesmi

“Creating your own path is the best way to find yourself and to know how your life will be like. Be a voice and not an echo means achieving your dreams while being happy. Creating your own voice will prove that you are more responsible. You would think about your decisions and you will plan your own future. Simply, follow your soul. It knows the way.”

Amal Herzi

“There is no doubt I choose to create my own voice. I wouldn’t follow other footprints. I must create mine. The feeling of being independent and free is a vital sensation. Everyone ought to create their own style of clothing, how they talk..every detail should be invented and not copied.”

Sarra Sdiri

“Since I was 2 years old, all I knew what that I have to follow my parents’ orders. They taught me that I am, or rather, should be a reflection of them and their thoughts. It is not their mistake. They were raised that way too. Growing up, I found something new that I should follow: It is this great society with its traditions, illusions and myths. They told me that I should be an echo of this society and that being different is unacceptable. I decided that I don’t like the way they set for me. I didn’t like the impact I was leaving in this world. I chose the hard path: To believe in myself and that I know the right way. If I keep waiting for someone else to open the doors for me, or to give me opportunities, I’ll be waiting for a very long time. It can be hard to convince society that I can be an independent woman who doesn’t need anyone else to complete me. I have to raise my own voice just like that tiny plant that cuts through the rocks, not because it is powerful; but because it is persistent.”

Fehmi Mejri

“I choose to create my own voice because I don’t have to live up to someone else’s expectations of me and I don’t need anyone to push me to be the best. I want to push myself without any help and to get rid of my fears.”

Chayma Jamai

I will always choose to depend on myself, never on others and to create my own road to a true freedom. It is evident that to create your own voice in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else s the greatest accomplishment ever. I believe that being self-reliant will help you undertake and complete tasks independently, without having to wait for others to finish their part of the work.

Mohamed Soualhi

“If I had to choose between being someone else’s echo or creating my own voice, I would definitely choose creating my own. First of all, because following the wave is not a good thing. Sometimes, the same wave that makes you rise, will make you drown. Second, to exist in this world, you have to be original. Most of the times, following others is what makes people irrelevant throughout their entire life.”

--

--

Sarra Jouini
Speak Up Schools

Agrégé Teacher of English l Co-Founder of @A2Inspire l AIESEC Alumna l Debate Trainer