0.0 GPA

Caryn Morgan
Storytellers Growth Lab
3 min readApr 14, 2017

When I started college I chose to attend Community College simply because I refused to take my SATs. Early on my mom recognized I was not progressing as well with reading as she felt I should given her perception of my intelligence so she insisted I be tested for dyslexia. After many hours of testing her suspicions were confirmed. I was put on an Individual Education Plan, taken out of class for individualized learning and placed in some remedial classes.

In general my IQ was quite high, but my performance did not match. These were the days where the Gifted and Talented kids were also separated out and were given special privileges and classes. I remember one time when I was walking to one of my classes and walked by the library where the GT kids were having, what I perceived to be, a party, and I was so jealous. In my remedial classes I don’t remember much other than we did things like make pudding, and planted seeds, based of reading directions. I am sure we were learning during this time, I am just not sure what the lessons were.

In middle school I had one small class, both figuratively and literally, where we worked on the skills where we were behind in our regular classes. We did spend time learning Shakespeare and performing portions. So, I have to assumed I was learning something in class.

By the time I hit high school I was, pretty much, main streamed back into regular classes with one period where I was once again, in a tiny classroom where I could get help on any of my classes where I may be struggling. I basically just did my homework there. What this did for me was gave me a way to avoid developing any sort of good study or learning habits and, mostly, I learned how to manipulate the system to skate through high school with the least amount of effort possible.

I was a solid C student in high school. I did just enough to get by. When I had a teacher who made classes more difficult, I just went to my resource teacher or counselor and found a way to switch to a teacher who I could get around easier.

That brings me to my first semester at Northern Virginia Community College. I took a full time compliment of classes and figured an 8 AM class was plenty late enough to make Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. It wasn’t.

I discovered the lounge, and friends, and many excuses to NOT go to class. The funny thing about college is… the professors don’t care if you don’t show up. They won’t drop you from your roles, or call your parents. They simply fail you. That is how at the end of my Fall freshman semester, I ended up with a 0.0 GPA.

That is also how I ended up with no money to pay for college.

In 1988 one credit hour at Northern Virginia Community College was $18.35. I had to start paying for my classes and I was working two jobs (McDonald’s and as a teen drug treatment counselor), had a car, insurance, and other bills, event at that low price, money was tight. So, I started with one class at a time when I started back. I started back with US History. My professor was Mrs. Vines and I count my blessings every day for this woman because she started me on my path to educational success. (Her’s was one of the first classes I failed that first semester)

Mrs. Vines told us to record her lectures, she gave us her home phone number, she offered us multiple ways to take her exams, she offered us every possible way to succeed, as long as we simply showed up. She suggested we get together in study groups, and even helped us connect with other students. That first semester I completed her class with a 98%. The first near perfect class since elementary school. I still have my notes from that class.

Thanks to that course and Mrs. Vines I learned how to believe in myself as intelligent and capable as a student. I now have a Master’s degree in Adult Education. That degree I completed with a 3.97 GPA.

--

--