My Greatest Success

Iris Kitching
Storytellers Growth Lab
3 min readApr 13, 2017

By Iris L. Kitching

No one could have told me I would be a speaker one day. I was a quiet, reticent person who often found it difficult to even talk to anyone. I expressed my thoughts and feelings by writing poetry. As a young adult I joined a poetry group, performing and interactively sharing writings at local universities and a small community theater. It was out of my comfort zone, but still enjoyable.

Church was a different story. As an adult I was quiet again, not comfortable among Christians. I sensed unacceptance. I believe certain life situations label you “sinner” to some church folk. You have to prove your worthiness to have true Christian fellowship again but that’s a story for another day.

As I matured in my faith, I recognized I hadn’t used my talent or gifts for God. I wasn’t involved in church ministries in my small church, felt unfulfilled and was at a low point. I said, Lord, I don’t want to die feeling like this way; I want to do something meaningful. I began working a little in ministries, eventually becoming assistant leader, then leader. It was invigorating being purposefully engaged. Next, I was leader in departments, and lastly was an elder/lay pastor, preaching for divine services 4 or more times a year. Never did I envision doing this but thrived in my responsibilities and began feeling successful.

Success is peace of mind which is a direct result of self-satisfaction in knowing you did your best to become the best you are capable of becoming. John Wooden

I landed a job as a secretary in Women’s Ministries for my denomination. I loved seeing the positive difference made in the lives of women worldwide. Writing devotionals to contribute to the yearly devotional book was rewarding too. Occasionally I spoke at local Women’s Ministries worship services or prayer events, felt God leading, and welcomed the path I was on. One day my boss said a Women’s Ministries Congress speaker was needed in the South Pacific. She and her assistant director were booked; she had recommended me. I was excited and nervous. A secretary was not usually asked to these large events. The official call came in — I was invited, and I accepted.

Six weeks later, I was in Fiji. My first afternoon there while reviewing my sermons, panic set in. Why Lord? Why did they invite me? Why did I say yes? I felt unworthy, cried, and prayed. Finally, I peacefully acknowledged I could and would deliver God’s word to the 275+ women for the seven days. Additional comfort came each evening as two prayer warriors pulled me aside to pray for me and for the message.

Today I praise God that even in the midst of small speaking and writing successes, my unexpected experience in Fiji was, to me, my greatest success. I didn’t plan for it but humbly accepted what God presented. After years of service, I was ready, willing, and by His grace, able.

I can tell you from experience that God’s help and presence in our lives is vital. He is the Author of all true success and everything that is good — without Him, we can do nothing of true value. Joyce Meyer

This is my Day 12 Post for the 30 Day Writing Challenge in the Speak Write Now Community.

--

--

Iris Kitching
Storytellers Growth Lab

Poet. Creative writer. Children’s story book writer. Published author. Enjoys Spoken Word, soulful music, solitude, and an awesome sunrise or sunset. aka Iris K