21 Smart Ways To Reduce the Effects of Bipolar Disorder on Everyday Life

With notes by a writer diagnosed with Bipolar 1.

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar
Published in
11 min readJun 8, 2022

--

Graphic created with Canva.

After three years of trial and error and over 30 different medications, I crashed in 1998.

I spent months in bed, often not bathing or shaving. The few times I ventured out of the house, even my friends didn’t recognize me. And how could they? I didn’t recognize myself.

Bipolar disorder is a mental illness known for the extreme mood swings it produces. Mood swings can be abrupt and unpredictable. They can range from extremely high and ecstatic to exceptionally low and sad.

People with bipolar disorder often have trouble coping with everyday life. The worst cycles can last for weeks or months.

I am one of the millions of people who live with bipolar disorder. I know all too well how difficult it can be to deal with the everyday ups and downs of this illness. But I also know that there are things you can do to help make life with bipolar disorder easier.

Download a free PDF copy of this post. (Off-site link)

Here are 21 smart ways to reduce the effects of bipolar disorder on your everyday life:

1. Take your medication as prescribed

--

--

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar

Helping you understand and thrive with bipolar disorder. Editor of the Speaking Bipolar Publication. Let's connect: https://speakingbipolar.com/socialmedia