Bipolar and Everyday Struggles

Survival mechanisms

Ayomide Olasoji
Speaking Bipolar
2 min readSep 16, 2023

--

Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

It costs quite a lot trying to live a normal life with bipolar disorder. However, it is possible to live a fulfilled life despite this mental illness.

Here are a few tips:

1. Structure:

Having a structured life in terms of activities and cutting down on some activities that drains one’s energy without commensurate results is a one step ahead in managing bipolar disorder.

Having a fixed time for sleeping and rest especially helps to keep bipolar in check.

2. Community

In Africa, there are a few myths and misconceptions about those who have mental illnesses. The stigma and societal stereotypes often make people living with bipolar disorder want to stay alone and not socialize. One of the common myths associated with mental illnesses in this part of the world is that folks with mental illnesses (myself included) are prone to unpredictable behaviours, and those behaviours can be self destructive and negatively affect family and friends.

However, finding a community of supportive people who will not judge you based on your mental challenges can help people living with bipolar disorder to live meaningful and enriching lives.

3. Personal development

Mental illnesses can be challenging and energy draining as we struggle to even get by on some dark days but we cannot neglect personal development and use our bipolar issue as an excuse for irrational or complacent behaviours.

Finally, as a person living with bipolar disorder, I wish there are some magic wands to tune me into a normal mood most days. I still struggle with getting my mind relaxed, but I will keep researching more about this illness. I believe with adhering to meds prescriptions, I will be fine.

Till I write you again,

I remain your pen buddy,

Ayomide Olasoji.

--

--