How a Card Reminded Me of the Value of Small Acts of Kindness

It really is the little things that mean the most.

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar

--

Image created by author with Canva.

“Ugh, I hope it’s not a wedding invitation.”

The words were out of my mouth before I thought about it. My mom retrieved our mail while I was working. She left my stack in a neat pile on her kitchen table.

I opened the envelope with my heart clenched in anxiety, already imagining the excuses I would make to get out of attending yet another wedding. Then the most wonderful thing came out of the envelope.

“We know this is a difficult season for you,” the card read. “We’re thinking of you and here for you.”

One of my dearest friends and her husband signed it. They didn’t know I was in the middle of a manic episode. They simply remembered that spring was a tough time of year for me and thought they’d reach out. Their kindness touched me deeply.

“The smallest act of kindness is worth more than the greatest intention.” — Kahlil Gibran

Be Kind

The smallest act of kindness can mean so much, especially to someone who is struggling. If you know someone who is going through a tough time, reach out to them and let them know you care. It might just be the bright spot they need in their day.

--

--

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar

Editor of Speaking Bipolar on Medium and author of SpeakingBipolar.com. You can thrive with mental illness. Links: https://speakingbipolar.com/socialmedia