How Acts of Kindness Can Help You Move Past Your Grief

What helped me work through my toughest loss.

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar
Published in
3 min readJun 14, 2022

--

Image created by author with Canva.

It was a Tuesday in July 2007 when I lost my soulmate. We were both at work and had a brief telephone conversation about how stupid one of our friends was acting. Neither of us had much time, so we said only a few words. We made plans for dinner and each hung up.

Less than an hour later, she was gone. Losing her was the worst experience of my life.

The act of grieving is a slow process, and the worst of it often comes in waves. During the worst days, I learned a valuable lesson about how to cope with grief and the worst days life throws at you.

Acts of Kindness

One of the best ways to wrestle with your emptiness and pain is to get busy doing acts of kindness for those in need. The ache inside doesn’t go away completely, but having a purposeful task to concentrate on relieves some of the internal downward spiral.

For me, I’ve always enjoyed reading to the elderly. One of the finest gifts God gave me was the ability to read well. In the last 30 years, I’ve spent thousands of hours reading to those who struggled to read for themselves.

When my grief was the hardest to face, I got busy again. I looked for ways to help…

--

--

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar

Helping you understand and thrive with bipolar disorder. Editor of the Speaking Bipolar Publication. Let's connect: https://speakingbipolar.com/socialmedia