How I Accepted My Mental Illness Through Language and Why Preference Matters

Linea Johnson
Speaking Bipolar
Published in
9 min readJul 11, 2024

--

They told me I should say I was a person with bipolar, not a bipolar person. And then I began policing the language of other advocates…

TW: Suicidal ideation

Stylized black and white image of Linea Johnson sitting on a couch with the words “You should say”
Photo by author

You can’t say that

Mental health and the journey to diagnosis, especially for a chronic or “severe” mental illness, is a rollercoaster. One in which emotions, identity, pain, relief, grief, and trauma collide.

It is also a rollercoaster to find the language to name something that is both intensely personal and yet defined by medical, academic, and societal definitions.

In the past decade and a half that I have been writing about my mental illness, words, terms, and phrases have come and gone from popularity. I had a corporate client ask me to edit an article written to exchange all mentions of “depression” for “burnout” and “anxiety” for “stress.” In another article, an editor asked me not to refer to mental health struggles as a disability. I have also watched as the words of mental health have moved between illness, to challenges, to struggles, and back again.

And in the middle of all of these adjustments to language has been my internal sense of identity as a woman living with bipolar, anxiety, and anorexia.

--

--

Linea Johnson
Speaking Bipolar

Linea is a writer, speaker, and author. Founder/CEO of The Thrive Shift, Linea is committed to mental health awareness. Learn more: linea.myflodesk.com/writing