Protect Your Fortress

Boundaries as effective tools

Stephanie Ann Grant
Speaking Bipolar

--

Photo by Lucas Carl on Unsplash

Every single person you meet has been through a vulnerable period at least once in their lives. Once upon a time, I used to look at only the good in people. While I still believe the vast majority of humans are indeed good people, I am no longer the naïve girl I used to be.

I’ve learned a few tough lessons along the way and am now wiser for it. Never let loneliness, the need for acceptance, or familial ties be your excuse for allowing people to treat you like a wet dishrag.

Those with little to no support systems tend to be easy targets for predatory people. They can come in any form - a potential lover, a friend, a long-lost relative looking to reconnect, or even a neighbor. They may not be overtly be “bad” people either, just lacking in emotional maturity.

We’ve all heard of someone being called a narcissist. While there is no doubt in my mind, there are true, straight of the DSM-5 narcissists out there. Of all the unpleasant people I’ve met, only one was probably a true narcissist. Having that word thrown around flippantly as an adjective is damaging. I don’t have the authority to diagnose anyone. Unless you are a licensed professional in the psychology field, you’re not either.

There are manipulative, toxic, pathological, and lying people everywhere. They’ll lie, cheat, and steal to get what they want. Once they have no use for you, they’ll…

--

--

Stephanie Ann Grant
Speaking Bipolar

Just a mom, married to my best friend, avid outdoorswoman, writer and veteran. I write straight from the heart. No AI here!