Bipolar

The Two Faces of Bipolar Disorder

There are two extremes to having bipolar. Here’s what they look like.

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar
Published in
4 min readSep 22, 2019

--

Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images from Pixabay

I am invincible. I can conquer everything.

I am beaten and broken. I can’t do anything.

Sound familiar?

Those might be the extremes, but far too often when you have Bipolar Disorder you feel like those are your only two options. On manic days, everything is possible. Although those days can be extremely dangerous, they are often the most fun and creative.

The flip side and the face that seems to appear more frequently is the dark and foreboding one. Those are the days when everything feels impossible.

“The nearer the dawn the darker the night.”
- Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

When You’re Up

I don’t do drugs and never have. I’m also not much of a drinker, and that for many reasons but mostly due to medication interactions.

That said, I have to say that mania, at least the extremely manic days, is what I imagine it must be like to be high.

Creativity flows like a roaring river, and I often start lots of new projects. Everything seems bright and beautiful. Colors appear more vibrant. Sleep and food…

--

--

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar

Helping you understand and thrive with bipolar disorder. Editor of the Speaking Bipolar Publication. Let's connect: https://speakingbipolar.com/socialmedia