The Underlying Anxiety of Bipolar

When you’re scared of the rise and the fall.

Julio Angel Rivera
Speaking Bipolar
Published in
4 min readJun 4, 2024

--

By Justin R. Pacheco -Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org

On Edge

I don’t relax much. When I’m supposed to be relaxing, I’m worried. Fidgety. I never think I’m doing enough.

Things aren’t perfect right now. Work isn’t great. That’s a trigger. It causes stress and anxiety. Anxiety that never seems to leave me. It feels like depression making a false start over and over again. Teasing me.

Don’t tell me things can’t feel perfect, because I’ve been there before. My life has been perfect. I clearly remember telling people that it was and feeling amazing.

Not that I need perfection to be happy.

Of course, perfection can’t last. Something has to happen to trip you up. That’s the voyage you’re on. Turbulence is a part of the game.

I wonder if perfection brings me to self-destruction. Does life feeling too good lead me to hypomania?

I don’t think it does. I know I’ve felt great outside of being symptomatic. But I do think about letting myself get too happy, and what that might mean. I suppose in a way I’m scared of happiness and sadness now. That’s a big part of the anxiety.

Nobody wants to feel depression. It’s misery. But so is the crash after hypomanic episodes. That…

--

--

Julio Angel Rivera
Speaking Bipolar

Dad, writer, author of Brokedown Sensei, martial arts coach, mental health advocate, speaker - From Brooklyn. NYU grad. Visit InternalJiuJitsu.com..