Today, I Feel Okay.

A Poem about Progress

Matthew Gonzalez
Speaking Bipolar

--

Photo by Catalin Pop on Unsplash

Today, I feel okay.

I might go out for a run.

Today, I feel okay.

I might play a game for fun.

Today, I feel okay.

I might call up my folks.

Today, I feel okay.

I might take a dip and work on my strokes.

Today, I feel okay.

I might open the windows to feel the breeze.

Today, I feel okay.

I might just jump in a pile of leaves.

Today, I feel okay.

And this makes me amused.

Cause even though today I feel okay

Yesterday, I was broken and confused.

You see…

Today, I feel okay.

But, It’s been hard to smile.

Today, I feel okay.

But, I haven’t felt like myself for a while.

Today, I feel okay.

But, other days been filled with sorrow.

Today, I feel okay.

But, I fear for tomorrow.

But since today I feel okay.

The sky no longer looks gray.

The birds chirps loudly.

And I can hear the children play.

Each day is a step.

And I’ll keep stepping on my way.

Cause even though I may stumble.

I know… Some day…

I will be okay for days.

--

--

Matthew Gonzalez
Speaking Bipolar

I love talking about movies and television as well as promoting conversations about our mental health. Laugh more. Be kind. Be good.