Do you know your online audience? Instagram stories vs Snapchat

Why Instagram stories won’t convert me.

Jan Johan
When I think about: Social Media
2 min readMar 19, 2017

--

http://www.trustedreviews.com/news/instagram-albums-android-ios

Just like most people, it took me a while to really understand Snapchat. I wasn’t the only one who thought that it was redundant to have you posts disappear after 24 hours. I thought it was a less effective version on Instagram.

http://static3.businessinsider.com/image/562e8494bd86effb5b8b9b43/how-to-save-all-of-your-snapchat-stories-to-your-phone.jpg

But the more I used it, the more I learned, and the more I snapped. The 24 hour life span of the content almost took the pressure off. I felt almost liberated to share and post content knowing that it would go away. I started posting the highlights of my day, and slowly start to document my interactions with friends.

The more friends I started putting into my content, the more people would follow and watch my content. My audience became my content, and my audience consumes my content. Practically the perfect cycle.

Now with Instagram. I used it like everyone else did before the days of IG Influencers. It was an online album from the highlights of my life. Since I started Snapchatting more, I slowly moved away from the IG environment.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/RfsBrhjkNVhg52QNm3rQrOk_6u4xvTe4QPoEQFMRofa0_hN2qWVqGmySMl-_TxC5sQ=h900

The nature of Instagram is a competition of images. And in a competition of images, there will never be a one beating the other. With Snapchat, the people who follow me consume my content willingly. They would have to click on my name to see my story.

On Instagram, I have a well documented account of the history of my life so far. And on my Snapchat, I have an active relationship with my audience.

Regardless of how many features Instagram takes from Snapchat and vice versa, it is the nature in which you grow your audience that dictates the channel of content distribution.

--

--