What I learned from Snapchat, and how my audience started to fuel my content.

My Snapchat content is my audience, and my audience consumes my content.

Jan Johan
When I think about: Social Media
3 min readMar 13, 2017

--

https://www.wired.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/snapchat-crowd-2-f.jpg

It’s not too uncommon to run into someone who started a YouTube channel at some point. Maybe they tried blogging? Or maybe they tried becoming brand influencers? Even those who seem to “YouTube” professionally can tell you that a challenge in keeping an online presence is always finding and creating more diverse and engaging content for your audience.

I like to think I “snap” like anyone else. When I’m out for dinner, when i’m at a party, a concert, an outing with friends. It’s nothing too special. BUT. At some point, I just found it fun to start documenting my day. With me still being in university and all, my content usually revolved around the people I was doing things with.

Repeating this over and over again, my audience started growing. You know that temporary high of recognition when someone publicly tags you in an Instagram photo? Well same thing here. People like to be included in content. People like seeing themselves through the feeds of others. My content began to revolve around my friends, and at the end of the day my friends would watch my stories to keep up with what and who I was doing things with.

I like to think that generating content is easy when you really know what you want to communicate to your audience, and why? For me, I Snap to keep my friends updated with my life ( I’m too lazy to fill in every single friend with news about me). And why? Well, because most of my experiences are made better with my friends. So why not document these moments?

https://image.slidesharecdn.com/socialmediaprocessflow-090510203323-phpapp02/95/social-media-process-flow-1-728.jpg?cb=1241987630

If I had any advice to give, it would be to really understand what your audience is getting out of your content and feed. Are you enhancing their experience? and If so, can you keep going? Finding a good balance of this will make content flow out naturally.

Instagram is a competition of who has the “sexiest” picture. It is a competition where one will always beat another.

Facebook is full of ads and people sharing other posts, more than making content.

YouTube is for dedicated channels where content is created with care

Snapchat is the sweet spot of intimacy where your followers, have to have added you independently while actually wanting to view your content. (No second hand content from shares or tags). While still casual enough that it almost bridges the social media world to the physical world.

--

--